MUNICIPAL CHARITIES OF STRATFORD-UPON-AVON

Registered charity 1200253 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as MUNICIPAL CHARITIES

Provision of low-cost, self-contained, low-level supported accommodation (almshouses) for local elderly people of limited financial means. Awarding of grants for a specific purpose to needy individuals and families living within the town boundary of Stratford-upon-Avon.

Causes: General Charitable Purposes · Disability · The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty · Accommodation/housing · Other Charitable Purposes · Grant history (this charity is a funder) · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£705k
Latest spending
£627k
Registered
2022
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity distributed £44,668 in grants to support 1,508 people in Stratford-upon Avon during the financial year. The document does not disclose total income, expenditure, or reserves figures, nor does it mention any financial risks or going concern uncertainties.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/03/2025)

Total income
£705k
Total spending
£627k
Reserves (reported)
£244k
Employees
6

Reported reserves equal ~4.7 months of spending — below the median for charities its size (median 5.2 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, largest income source: Charitable activities (56% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 0.0% of total income — below the median for charities its size (4.9%) (benchmarks).

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Warwickshire

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£705k£627k
31/03/2024£372k£364k
31/03/2023£0£0

Common questions

Is MUNICIPAL CHARITIES OF STRATFORD-UPON-AVON financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity distributed £44,668 in grants to support 1,508 people in Stratford-upon Avon during the financial year. The document does not disclose total income, expenditure, or reserves figures, nor does it mention any financial risks or going concern uncertainties.

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
The National Lottery Community Fund11/11/2024£13kWarmth fitness and Security Project

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

FunderSimilar charities fundedAmount to them
THE GUILD ESTATE ENDOWMENT1£4.5m
COLLEGE ESTATE ENDOWMENT1£2.0m
SKIPTON BUILDING SOCIETY CHARITABLE FOUNDATION1£995

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with MUNICIPAL CHARITIES.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
MUNICIPAL CHARITIES OF STRATFORD-UPON-AVON£705k—0unclear—no doubt
MUNICIPAL CHARITIES FY2025£133k—0unclear—no doubt
STRATFORD-UPON-AVON TOWN TRUST FY2024£4.0m£90,001 - £100,0002unclear—no doubt
THE GLOUCESTER CHARITIES TRUST FY2025£6.2m—0unclear—no doubt
SALISBURY CITY ALMSHOUSE AND WELFARE CHARITIES FY2024£2.5m——unclear—no doubt
CHELTENHAM ALMSHOUSES & AID CIO FY2025£312k—0above—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.