The Rainbow Centre (Scarborough) CIO

Registered charity 1183490 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as SCARBOROUGH SOCIAL ACTION CENTRE (ST MARY'S WITH HOLY APOSTLES)

A social action centre supporting vulnerable people in crisis. The centre provides day care services for the homeless and people in emergency accommodation including a food bank, clothing/bedding/kitchen appliances, a shower, washing machine and dryer, community cafe, TV lounge and garden.

Causes: General Charitable Purposes · Education/training · Disability · The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty · Economic/community Development/employment · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£449k
Latest spending
£395k
Registered
2019
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state a net income of £54,080 for the year ended 31 December 2025, compared to £181,773 in the prior year. Expenditure on charitable activities and other activities totaled £394,845, while total income was £448,925. The filing does not disclose specific reserves figures or a reserves policy target.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Public fundraising profile: JustGiving — The Rainbow Centre Scarborough (matched by registered charity number).

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/12/2024)

Total income
£514k
Total spending
£332k
Reserves (reported)
£168k
Employees
16

Reported reserves equal ~6.1 months of spending — below the median for charities its size (median 7.0 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 0.0% of total income — below the median for charities its size (2.9%) (benchmarks).

Register events

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: East Riding Of Yorkshire · North Yorkshire

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2025£449k£395k
31/12/2024£514k£332k
31/12/2023£393k£303k
31/12/2022£347k£360k
31/12/2021£363k£396k

Common questions

Is The Rainbow Centre (Scarborough) CIO financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state a net income of £54,080 for the year ended 31 December 2025, compared to £181,773 in the prior year. Expenditure on charitable activities and other activities totaled £394,845, while total income was £448,925. The filing does not disclose specific reserves figures or a reserves policy target. Its FY2025 accounts were independently examined.

Who funds The Rainbow Centre (Scarborough) CIO?

Funders whose own accounts filings name The Rainbow Centre (Scarborough) CIO as a grant recipient include YORKSHIRE BUILDING SOCIETY CHARITABLE FOUNDATION.

Known funders

Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.

FunderYearAmountPurpose (as stated by the funder)
YORKSHIRE BUILDING SOCIETY CHARITABLE FOUNDATIONFY2025£3k

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
Postcode Lottery09/05/2025£30kMillionaire Street 2025 05w3 Year 1
UK government29/09/2020£10kCoronavirus Community Support Fund

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with THE RAINBOW CENTRE (MARHAM).

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
The Rainbow Centre (Scarborough) CIO£449k—0unclear—no doubt
THE RAINBOW CENTRE (MARHAM) FY2025£2.0m—0unclear—no doubt
THE RAINBOW CENTRE FOR CONDUCTIVE EDUCATION LTD FY2025£1.1m—0above—no doubt
RAINBOW SERVICES (HARLOW) FY2025£684k—0unclear—no doubt
CENTRE 56 LIMITED FY2025£546k—0unclear—no doubt
RAINBOW CHILDREN'S NURSERY LIMITED FY2025£432k—0above—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.