CENTRE FOR HOMELESSNESS IMPACT

Registered charity 1183026 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as CHI · also registered in Scotland as SC049501 (OSCR)

The Centre's mission is to improve the lives of people experiencing homelessness by ensuring that policy,practice and funding decisions are underpinned by robust evidence.

Causes: Education/training · Disability · The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty · Grant history (this charity is a funder) · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£10.0m
Latest spending
£9.7m
Registered
2019
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that total charitable expenditure increased to £9,701,000 in 2025 from £3,826,000 in 2024, driven by a significant rise in direct costs. Staff costs rose to £1,464,000, reflecting an increase in the average number of employees from 20.7 to 24. The document does not disclose total income or unrestricted reserves, limiting a full assessment of financial health.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Accounts audited. Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Leadership, per the charity’s website

Listed on the charity’s own website when we last crawled it; roles may have changed. Pay-band disclosures above are anonymous statutory disclosures and are not attributed to any named individual.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook · instagram

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 30/06/2025)

Total income
£10.0m
Total spending
£9.7m
Reserves (reported)
£400k
Employees
23

Reported reserves equal ~0.5 months of spending — in the bottom quarter for charities its size (median 4.6 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, largest income source: Charitable activities (83% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 0.0% of total income — below the median for charities its size (3.8%) (benchmarks).

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Northern Ireland · Scotland · Throughout England And Wales

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
30/06/2025£10.0m£9.7m
30/06/2024£4.3m£3.8m
30/06/2023£2.7m£2.7m
30/06/2022£2.1m£1.9m
30/06/2021£1.5m£1.4m

Common questions

Is CENTRE FOR HOMELESSNESS IMPACT financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that total charitable expenditure increased to £9,701,000 in 2025 from £3,826,000 in 2024, driven by a significant rise in direct costs. Staff costs rose to £1,464,000, reflecting an increase in the average number of employees from 20.7 to 24. The document does not disclose total income or unrestricted reserves, limiting a full assessment of financial health. Its FY2025 accounts were audited.

Who funds CENTRE FOR HOMELESSNESS IMPACT?

Funders whose own accounts filings name CENTRE FOR HOMELESSNESS IMPACT as a grant recipient include FOUNDATIONS - WHAT WORKS CENTRE FOR CHILDREN AND FAMILIES, JOHN ELLERMAN FOUNDATION.

Known funders

Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.

FunderYearAmountPurpose (as stated by the funder)
FOUNDATIONS - WHAT WORKS CENTRE FOR CHILDREN AND FAMILIESFY2023£171kPine Progression
JOHN ELLERMAN FOUNDATIONFY2023£75kTo create an enhanced learning culture in which reliable and actionable evidence enables policymakers, practitioners and commissioners everywhere to make better

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with PATHWAYS: CHESTERFIELD DAY CENTRE FOR THE HOMELESS.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
CENTRE FOR HOMELESSNESS IMPACT£10.0m—0unclear—no doubt
PATHWAYS: CHESTERFIELD DAY CENTRE FOR THE HOMELESS FY2025£422k—0unclear—no doubt
CENTREPOINT OUTREACH FY2025£224k—0unclear—noted
THE BOOTH CENTRE FY2026£1.5m——above—no doubt
CENTREPOINT SOHO FY2025£63.2m——above—no doubt
CENTRE 56 LIMITED FY2025£546k—0unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.