BURY PARK EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTE

Registered charity 1118199 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as AL-HIKMAH SCHOOL

Provide Buildings/Facilities/Open Space for private school and college providing both the national curriculum and Islamic syllabus in Luton, Bedfordshire.

Causes: General Charitable Purposes · Education/training · Religious Activities · Arts/culture/heritage/science · Amateur Sport · Human Rights/religious Or Racial Harmony/equality Or Diversity · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£964k
Latest spending
£1.1m
Registered
2007
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity reported a net movement in funds of -£88,339, resulting in unrestricted reserves of -£1,737,849. The trustees' report notes that current reserves are negative but considers them adequate based on their knowledge and experience. The independent examiner reported significant issues regarding internal controls, undisclosed related party transactions, and lack of supporting documentation for various balances.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Reserves policy: six months ahead (held: £-1.7m)
“The Trustees have resolved to establish over the next few years reserves to provide for future activities, and to provide funding for the expected expenditure for six months ahead.” — page 4
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Payments to trustees: Trustee Mr Q Ahmed was employed and paid salary. Trustee Mr M A Haque's firm received payment for services.
“Trustee Mr Q Ahmed provided Qurza Hasna Loan of £10K. Was employed and paid salary.” — page 14
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: Trustee Mr Q Ahmed provided a Qard Hasna Loan of £10,000 and was employed and paid salary.
“Trustee Mr Q Ahmed provided Qurza Hasna Loan of £10K. Was employed and paid salary.” — page 14
“Trustee Mr M A Haque is a partner of accountancy firm that provided payroll & bookkeeping service.” — page 14
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: Trustee Mr M A Haque is a partner of an accountancy firm that provided payroll and bookkeeping services.
“Trustee Mr Q Ahmed provided Qurza Hasna Loan of £10K. Was employed and paid salary.” — page 14
“Trustee Mr M A Haque is a partner of accountancy firm that provided payroll & bookkeeping service.” — page 14
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: Consultancy fees of £19,800 were paid to a company related to a trustee, which was not disclosed in the financial statements.
“Trustee Mr Q Ahmed provided Qurza Hasna Loan of £10K. Was employed and paid salary.” — page 14
“Trustee Mr M A Haque is a partner of accountancy firm that provided payroll & bookkeeping service.” — page 14
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Governance: Independent Examiner Report discloses that related party transactions, including salary payments and consultancy fees, were not disclosed in the financial statements.
“The related party transactions conducted with the Trustees or parties affiliated with Trustees are not disclosed in the financial statements including salary payment and subcontractors’ payments.” — page 8
“The matters of conflicts of interest in regards to the Trustees are not disclosed including appointment of family members, Financial Statement preparation, Independent Examinations, Accounting and Paid Works.” — page 8
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Governance: Independent Examiner Report discloses that conflicts of interest regarding trustees were not disclosed.
“The related party transactions conducted with the Trustees or parties affiliated with Trustees are not disclosed in the financial statements including salary payment and subcontractors’ payments.” — page 8
“The matters of conflicts of interest in regards to the Trustees are not disclosed including appointment of family members, Financial Statement preparation, Independent Examinations, Accounting and Paid Works.” — page 8
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Governance: Independent Examiner Report identifies weaknesses in internal control environment due to lack of standardized policies.
“The related party transactions conducted with the Trustees or parties affiliated with Trustees are not disclosed in the financial statements including salary payment and subcontractors’ payments.” — page 8
“The matters of conflicts of interest in regards to the Trustees are not disclosed including appointment of family members, Financial Statement preparation, Independent Examinations, Accounting and Paid Works.” — page 8
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 5 of 6 completeness components.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): instagram

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/08/2025)

Total income
£964k
Total spending
£1.1m
Reserves (reported)
£0
Employees
55

Reported reserves equal ~0.0 months of spending — in the bottom quarter for charities its size (median 5.2 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, largest income source: Charitable activities (95% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 0.0% of total income — below the median for charities its size (4.9%) (benchmarks).

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Central Bedfordshire · Luton

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/08/2025£964k£1.1m
31/08/2024£921k£1.0m
31/08/2023£891k£924k
31/08/2022£989k£1.2m
31/08/2021£996k£1.4m

Common questions

Is BURY PARK EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTE financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity reported a net movement in funds of -£88,339, resulting in unrestricted reserves of -£1,737,849. The trustees' report notes that current reserves are negative but considers them adequate based on their knowledge and experience. The independent examiner reported significant issues regarding internal controls, undisclosed related party transactions, and lack of supporting documentation for various balances. Its FY2025 accounts were independently examined.