STONE CROSS INDEPENDENT PRE-SCHOOL

Registered charity 1030338 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as STONE CROSS PRE-SCHOOL PLAYGROUP, STONECROSS PLAYGROUP

Pre-school running term time only offering sessional care for 2 yr olds to 4 1/2 yr olds. Fundraising events held to buy new equipment and resources.

Objects

THE AIMS OF THE PRE-SCHOOL ARE TO ENHANCE THE DEVELOPMENT AND EDUCATION OF CHILDREN PRIMARILY UNDER STATUTORY SCHOOL AGE BY ENCOURAGING PARENTS TO UNDERSTAND AND PROVIDE FOR THE NEEDS OF THEIR CHILDREN THROUGH COMMUNITY GROUPS AND BY:(A) OFFERING APPROPRIATE PLAY, EDUCATION AND CARE FACILITIES, FAMILY LEARNING AND EXTENDED HOURS GROUPS, TOGETHER WITH THE RIGHT OF PARENTS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR AND TO BECOME INVOLVED IN THE ACTIVITIES OF SUCH GROUPS, ENSURING THAT SUCH GROUPS OFFER OPPORTUNITIES FOR ALL CHILDREN WHATEVER THEIR RACE, CULTURE, RELIGION, MEANS OR ABILITY;(B) ENCOURAGING THE STUDY OF THE NEEDS OF SUCH CHILDREN AND THEIR FAMILIES AND PROMOTING PUBLIC INTEREST IN AND RECOGNITION OF SUCH NEEDS IN THE LOCAL AREAS;(C) INSTIGATING AND ADHERING TO AND FURTHERING THE AIMS AND OBJECTS OF THE PRE-SCHOOL LEARNING ALLIANCE.

Area of benefit: NOT DEFINED

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£233k
Latest spending
£253k
Registered
1993
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that fundraising activities generated £1,352.30 before expenses during the school year. The document does not disclose total income, total expenditure, or unrestricted reserves, nor does it state a reserves policy target. Consequently, the financial health cannot be fully assessed from the provided text.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Largest income source: Fundraising
“Fundraising activities historically have been a major source of income for the pre-school.” — page 2
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

In its annual return the charity told the Commission it is also regulated by: Ofsted (Office For Standards In Education). This is the charity’s own declaration; it is not a rating and has not been verified by the Commission or by this site.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: East Sussex

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/08/2025£233k£253k
31/08/2024£228k£224k
31/08/2023£187k£188k
31/08/2022£163k£182k
31/08/2021£155k£164k

Common questions

Is STONE CROSS INDEPENDENT PRE-SCHOOL financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that fundraising activities generated £1,352.30 before expenses during the school year. The document does not disclose total income, total expenditure, or unrestricted reserves, nor does it state a reserves policy target. Consequently, the financial health cannot be fully assessed from the provided text.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with ST GEORGE'S PRE SCHOOL.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
STONE CROSS INDEPENDENT PRE-SCHOOL£233k—0unclear—no doubt
ST GEORGE'S PRE SCHOOL FY2025£129k—0unclear—no doubt
ASHMORE PRESCHOOL FY2026£107k——unclear—no doubt
ST MARGARET'S PRE-SCHOOL (OLTON) FY2024£150k—0unclear—no doubt
LITTLE TEAPOTS PRE-SCHOOL FY2025£227k—0unclear—no doubt
LONG OAK PRE-SCHOOL FY2025£138k—0unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.