VALLEY LEISURE LIMITED

Registered charity 800760 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as TEST VALLEY LEISURE LIMITED

The principal activity of the charity in the year under review was the provision and operation of recreational facilities for the public and the advancement of health for the public benefit by the promotion of rehabilitative exercise and therapy programmes in the Test Valley area.

Objects

THE OBJECTS OF THE ASSOCIATION ARE TO: A) PROVIDE OR ASSIST IN PROVIDING, OPERATING, OR MANAGING FACILITIES FOR RECREATION AND OTHER LEISURE-TIME OCCUPATION IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE GENERAL PUBLIC; B) ADVANCE HEALTH FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT BY THE PROMOTION OF REHABILIATIVE EXERCISE AND THERAPY PROGRAMMES, AND C) ADVANCE EDUCATION FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT BY IN PARTICULAR (BUT NOT BY WAY OF LIMITATION) THE PROMOTION OF THE ARTS INCLUDING THEATRE, MUSIC, DANCE AND VISUAL ARTS.

Area of benefit: ENGLAND & WALES

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives · Amateur Sport · Recreation · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£968k
Latest spending
£1.0m
Registered
1989
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity reported a net deficit of £66,354 for the year ended 31 March 2025, resulting in total funds decreasing to £444,457 from £510,811 in the prior year. Despite the deficit, the trustees confirm there are no material uncertainties regarding the charity's ability to continue as a going concern, supported by the securing of a long-term lease and record participation levels. The charity maintains a documented reserves policy but does not disclose a specific numerical target for free reserves.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Highest-paid employee band: £70,001 - £80,000 — in the top quarter for charities its size (median £60k)
“One employee received emoluments between £70,000 and £80,000 during the current year.” — page 27
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Employees paid over £60,000: 1
“One employee received emoluments between £70,000 and £80,000 during the current year. During the prior year one employee received emoluments between £60,000 and £70,000.” — page 27
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Largest income source: Charitable activities (99% of income)
“Total income from charitable activities 968,205”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Trading subsidiary: Valley Health and Leisure Limited
“The charitable company holds 100% of the ordinary share capital of Valley Health and Leisure Limited which is a company registered in England and Wales and remained dormant throughout the accounting period.” — page 29
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts audited by Knight Goodhead Limited. Discloses 5 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Corporate structure

VALLEY HEALTH AND LEISURE LIMITED — per its own Companies House accounts
  • No intra-group transactions or balances are disclosed as the company is dormant.

Funders the charity credits

Named as funders/supporters on the charity’s own website (the charity’s claim, distinct from accounts-verified grants).

Company officers (Companies House)

Current officers of the charity’s own company per the Companies House register, cross-checked against the Charity Commission trustee list by name. A director not on the trustee list is usually a timing or naming difference between the two registers — check both records before drawing conclusions.

Official officers record.

Property (HM Land Registry)

2 registered titles in England and Wales held by the charity’s company or corporate body (0 freehold). All charity-held property. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright, OGL v3.0.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/03/2025)

Total income
£1.0m
Total spending
£1.0m
Reserves (reported)
£0
Employees
28

Reported reserves equal ~0.0 months of spending — in the bottom quarter for charities its size (median 5.2 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, largest income source: Charitable activities (94% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 0.0% of total income — below the median for charities its size (4.9%) (benchmarks).

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Hampshire

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£968k£1.0m
31/03/2024£847k£963k
31/03/2023£733k£824k
31/03/2022£526k£620k
31/03/2021£371k£637k

Common questions

Is VALLEY LEISURE LIMITED financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity reported a net deficit of £66,354 for the year ended 31 March 2025, resulting in total funds decreasing to £444,457 from £510,811 in the prior year. Despite the deficit, the trustees confirm there are no material uncertainties regarding the charity's ability to continue as a going concern, supported by the securing of a long-term lease and record participation levels. The charity maintains a documented reserves policy but does not disclose a specific numerical target for free reserves. Its FY2025 accounts were audited by Knight Goodhead Limited.

What does the highest-paid employee of VALLEY LEISURE LIMITED earn?

Per its FY2025 accounts, the highest-paid employee was in the £70,001 - £80,000 band, and 1 employees earned over £60,000.

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
Sport England13/10/2015£31kMove More with Zumba Fitness

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with Gateshead Active Ltd.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
VALLEY LEISURE LIMITED£968k£70,001 - £80,0001unclear—no doubt
Gateshead Active Ltd FY2025£1.6m—0below—material uncertainty
COMMUNITY LEISURE SERVICES PARTNERSHIP FY2025£2.2m—0below—no doubt
AFAN VALLEY COMMUNITY LEISURE FY2025£165k—0unclear—no doubt
RIBBLE VALLEY SPORTS AND RECREATION FY2025£1.0m—0unclear—no doubt
RYCROFT LEISURE FY2025£340k—0unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.