VAUXHALL COMMUNITY LAW AND INFORMATION CENTRE

Registered charity 702458 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as VAUXHALL COMMUNITY LAW CENTRE, VAUXHALL LAW AND INFORMATION CENTRE, Vauxhall Law Centre

We provide legal advice and assistance free of charge. Where appropriate, we provide representation in proceedings, in particular social security appeal tribunals.

Causes: General Charitable Purposes · Education/training · The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives · Disability · The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty · Accommodation/housing · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£664k
Latest spending
£635k
Registered
1990
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity generated a surplus of £29,419 for the year ended 31 March 2025, with total income rising to £664,168. Per the trustees' report, unrestricted reserves stood at £34,901, which is below the stated policy target of covering three months' running costs and redundancy provisions (totaling £103,123). The trustees plan to increase unrestricted reserves by pursuing dedicated core cost funding.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Highest-paid employee band: more than £60,000 — below the median for charities its size (£60k)
“One employee received emoluments of more than £60,000 the rest of the employees under £60,000 during the year” — page 19
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Employees paid over £60,000: 1
“One employee received emoluments of more than £60,000 the rest of the employees under £60,000 during the year” — page 19
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Reserves position: below the charity's own stated reserves policy (held: £35k; policy: three months' running costs and redundancy provision)
“As at the end of the financial year the unrestricted funds totalled £34,901. The charitable company requires £26,467 for redundancy provision, £70,656 for three months’ running costs and run-on insurance for files, estimated at £6,000 (total £103,123).” — page 6
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 6 of 6 completeness components.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook · instagram

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/03/2025)

Total income
£664k
Total spending
£635k
Reserves (reported)
£35k
Employees
17

Reported reserves equal ~0.7 months of spending — in the bottom quarter for charities its size (median 5.2 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, largest income source: Charitable activities (85% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 0.0% of total income — below the median for charities its size (4.9%) (benchmarks).

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Knowsley · Liverpool City · Sefton · St Helens · Wirral

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£664k£635k
31/03/2024£472k£492k
31/03/2023£403k£421k
31/03/2022£292k£254k
31/03/2021£275k£207k

Common questions

Is VAUXHALL COMMUNITY LAW AND INFORMATION CENTRE financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity generated a surplus of £29,419 for the year ended 31 March 2025, with total income rising to £664,168. Per the trustees' report, unrestricted reserves stood at £34,901, which is below the stated policy target of covering three months' running costs and redundancy provisions (totaling £103,123). The trustees plan to increase unrestricted reserves by pursuing dedicated core cost funding. Its FY2025 accounts were independently examined.

What does the highest-paid employee of VAUXHALL COMMUNITY LAW AND INFORMATION CENTRE earn?

Per its FY2025 accounts, the highest-paid employee was in the more than £60,000 band, and 1 employees earned over £60,000.

Who funds VAUXHALL COMMUNITY LAW AND INFORMATION CENTRE?

Funders whose own accounts filings name VAUXHALL COMMUNITY LAW AND INFORMATION CENTRE as a grant recipient include THE SAM AND BELLA SEBBA CHARITABLE FOUNDATION, THE T U U T CHARITABLE TRUST, CIVIC POWER FUND, THE 64 TRUST.

Shared trustees with funders

Register facts shown side by side: a person serves as trustee of both this charity and a funder whose accounts record grants to it. Shared trusteeship is lawful and common; well-run charities manage it through declared-interest procedures.

Known funders

Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.

FunderYearAmountPurpose (as stated by the funder)
THE SAM AND BELLA SEBBA CHARITABLE FOUNDATIONFY2025£90kCore funding
THE T U U T CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2023£30kNot specified in the named list, but included in Note 4 total.
CIVIC POWER FUNDFY2024£1k
THE 64 TRUSTFY2021—Funding committed for Welfare Benefits Worker (amount not stated)

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
A B Charitable Trust05/06/2026£25kA grant to Vauxhall Community Law & Information Centre
The National Lottery Community Fund15/10/2025£20kVolunteer-Led Legal Access Project
A B Charitable Trust17/06/2025£25kA grant to Vauxhall Community Law & Information Centre
The National Lottery Heritage Fund12/02/2025£96k"Don't Mourn, Organise!: A people's history of the Kirkby Unemployed Centre"
A B Charitable Trust19/08/2024£4kA grant to Vauxhall Community Law & Information Centre
A B Charitable Trust04/07/2024£25kA grant to Vauxhall Community Law & Information Centre
The National Lottery Community Fund24/05/2024£331kSupporting vulnerable people to manage in the community
The National Lottery Community Fund15/03/2024£20kCommunity advice & support during the Cost of Living Crisis
The National Lottery Community Fund06/01/2023£10kSupporting people during the Cost of Living Crisis
The National Lottery Heritage Fund08/11/2022£70k"Giz a Job: an oral history of the 1981 People's March for Jobs"
The National Lottery Community Fund12/11/2021£10kSupporting Debt Advice
The National Lottery Community Fund15/05/2020£10kProviding Advice During the COVID 19 Emergency