THE OPPORTUNITY GROUP

Registered charity 294106 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as THE FROME OPPORTUNITY GROUP, THE OPPORTUNITY GROUP FROME & DISTRICT

TO PROVIDE PRE-SCHOOL NURSERY CARE TO ALL CHILDREN IN A DEPRIVED AREA.

Objects

TO ENHANCE THE DEVELOPMENT AND EDUCATION OF CHILDREN UNDER STATUTORY SCHOOL AGE BY ENCOURAGING PARENTS TO UNDERSTAND AND PROVIDE FOR THE NEEDS OF THEIR CHILREN THROUGH COMMUNITY GROUPS AND BY: A) OFFERING APPROPRIATE PLAY FACILITIES AND TRAINING COURSES, TOGRTHER WITH THE RIGHT OF PARENTS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR AND TO BECOME INVOLVED IN THE ACTIVITIES OF SUCH GROUPS, ENSURING THAT SUCH GROUPS OFFER OPPORTUNITIES FOR ALL CHILDREN, REGARDLESS OF RACE, CULTURE, RELIGION OR MEANS. B) ENCOURAGING THE STUDY OF THE NEEDS OF SUCH CHILDREN AND THEIR FAMILIES AND PROMOTING PUBLIC INTEREST IN AND RECOGNITION OF SUCH NEEDS IN THE LOCAL AREAS. C) INVESTIGATING AND ADHERING TO AND FUTHERING THE AIM OF THE PRE-SCHOOL PLAYGROUPS ASSOCIATION.

Area of benefit: NOT DEFINED

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£145k
Latest spending
£137k
Registered
1986
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that total receipts for the period were £144,972, with total payments amounting to £136,568, resulting in a net surplus of £8,404. Cash funds increased from £40,871 at the start of the period to £49,275 at the end. The document does not disclose any reserves policy, pension deficits, or trading subsidiaries.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

In its annual return the charity told the Commission it is also regulated by: Ofsted (Office For Standards In Education). This is the charity’s own declaration; it is not a rating and has not been verified by the Commission or by this site.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Register events

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Somerset

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£145k£137k
31/03/2024£120k£134k
31/03/2023£131k£124k
31/03/2022£117k£116k
31/03/2021£111k£111k

Common questions

Is THE OPPORTUNITY GROUP financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that total receipts for the period were £144,972, with total payments amounting to £136,568, resulting in a net surplus of £8,404. Cash funds increased from £40,871 at the start of the period to £49,275 at the end. The document does not disclose any reserves policy, pension deficits, or trading subsidiaries.

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

FunderSimilar charities fundedAmount to them
HAYS TRAVEL FOUNDATION1£458

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with THE YEOVIL OPPORTUNITY GROUP.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
THE OPPORTUNITY GROUP£145k—0unclear—no doubt
THE YEOVIL OPPORTUNITY GROUP FY2025£224k—0above—no doubt
SHREWSBURY OPPORTUNITY GROUP FY2025£109k—0unclear—no doubt
WILDERN OPPORTUNITY GROUP FY2025£195kUnder £60,0000unclear—no doubt
HUGGLESCOTE PLAYGROUP FY2025£206k—0unclear—no doubt
ST JOSEPH'S CHILD CARE GROUP FY2025£748k—0unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.