JON SHAW FOUNDATION

Registered charity 1189073 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

The charity will promote and protect the physical and mental health of young people (0 - 25) diagnosed with epilepsy through the provision of financial assistance for equipment and services not normally provided by the statutory authorities. It will also provide support to improve the mental health of bereaved siblings and close friends (0 - 25) by funding activities and therapies across the UK.

Causes: The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives · Disability · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£65k
Latest spending
£66k
Registered
2020
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity received £68,485 and incurred total expenditure of £63,277, resulting in a net surplus for the period. The trustees report that total cash assets stood at £47,124 at the end of the financial year, with a designated reserve of £1,000 held for essential insurance and restarting fundraising. The charity notes risks regarding inadequate funds and lack of regular income but does not disclose any material uncertainties regarding its continuation.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Reserves policy: In the event that we have no income we can pay essential insurance and have a small fund to re-start fundraising. (held: £1k)
In the event that we have no income we can pay essential insurance and have a small fund to re-start fundraising.
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: Trustees Hannah Holt and Matthew Shaw manage a social media group and organize social events for bereaved siblings.
This has been organised by two of our trustees Hannah Holt and Matthew Shaw. They manage a social media group aimed at this audience and organise social events to enable bereaved siblings and friends to talk to others in the same situation.
We work with Chelsea Garnett, Sally Oldfield and Bev Coleman who provide regular counselling for our bereaved siblings and close friends in Cheshire, Yorkshire and Tyne and Wear
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: Charity works with Chelsea Garnett, Sally Oldfield and Bev Coleman who provide regular counselling.
This has been organised by two of our trustees Hannah Holt and Matthew Shaw. They manage a social media group aimed at this audience and organise social events to enable bereaved siblings and friends to talk to others in the same situation.
We work with Chelsea Garnett, Sally Oldfield and Bev Coleman who provide regular counselling for our bereaved siblings and close friends in Cheshire, Yorkshire and Tyne and Wear
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

Public fundraising profile: JustGiving — Jon Shaw Foundation (matched by registered charity number).

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook · instagram

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Throughout England

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
04/04/2026£65k£66k
04/04/2025£68k£63k
04/04/2024£70k£71k
04/04/2023£62k£45k
04/04/2022£40k£29k

Common questions

Is JON SHAW FOUNDATION financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity received £68,485 and incurred total expenditure of £63,277, resulting in a net surplus for the period. The trustees report that total cash assets stood at £47,124 at the end of the financial year, with a designated reserve of £1,000 held for essential insurance and restarting fundraising. The charity notes risks regarding inadequate funds and lack of regular income but does not disclose any material uncertainties regarding its continuation.