SWINDON COMMUNITY LIBRARY TRUST CIO

Registered charity 1171371 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as Liden Library & Community Hub

The Liden Library & Community Hub operates from a community library in Liden, Swindon, where we provide books for people of all ages to read, hold events including story time for children and support the local community with events.

Objects

(1) TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND LITERACY OF THE PUBLIC BY THE PROVISION OF A LENDING LIBRARY SERVICE FOR THE BENEFIT OF RESIDENTS SWINDON AND THE SURROUNDING AREA. (2) TO PROMOTE THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS OF SWINDON AND SURROUNDING COMMUNITIES, WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF AGE, SEX, RACE, POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS, BY ASSOCIATING WHEN APPROPRIATE TOGETHER THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES, VOLUNTARY ORGANISATIONS AND INHABITANTS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND LITERACY, AND TO PROVIDE FACILITIES, IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE, FOR EDUCATION, RECREATION AND OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION FOR THE INHABITANTS WITH THE OBJECTS OF IMPROVING THEIR CONDITIONS OF LIFE; (3) SUCH CHARITABLE PURPOSES FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT AS ARE EXCLUSIVELY CHARITABLE ACCORDING TO THE LAWS OF ENGLAND AND WALES AS THE TRUSTEES MAY FROM TIME TO TIME DETERMINE.

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · Arts/culture/heritage/science · Economic/community Development/employment · Recreation · website · Get email alerts

Registered contact address: Swindon, South West, England (from the postcode on the register)

Latest income
£36k
Latest spending
£14k
Registered
2017
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that unrestricted funds increased by £22,479 during the period, resulting in a year-end cash balance of £28,170.40. The charity received £15,500 in grants and £7,140.83 in utility contributions, while total payments amounted to £13,842.23. The filing does not disclose any reserves policy, pension deficits, or trading subsidiaries.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Swindon

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£36k£14k
31/03/2024£28k£21k
31/03/2023£36k£26k
31/03/2022£23k£22k
31/03/2021£6k£3k

Common questions

Is SWINDON COMMUNITY LIBRARY TRUST CIO financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that unrestricted funds increased by £22,479 during the period, resulting in a year-end cash balance of £28,170.40. The charity received £15,500 in grants and £7,140.83 in utility contributions, while total payments amounted to £13,842.23. The filing does not disclose any reserves policy, pension deficits, or trading subsidiaries.

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

FunderSimilar charities fundedAmount to them
THE JERUSALEM TRUST1£120k
CHURCH REVITALISATION TRUST1£73k
THE COMMUNITY FOUNDATION FOR WILTSHIRE & SWINDON1£15k

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with SWINDON HUB CIO.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
SWINDON COMMUNITY LIBRARY TRUST CIO£36k—0unclear—no doubt
SWINDON HUB CIO FY2025£135k—0unclear—no doubt
LEE HUB - INDEPENDENT COMMUNITY LIBRARY FY2026£41k——unclear—no doubt
MARDEN COMMUNITY HUB FY2024£27k—0unclear—no doubt
ELSON COMMUNITY LIBRARY AND HUB FY2025£60k—0unclear—no doubt
LINTON CATHODEON COMMUNITY TRUST FY2025£30k—0unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.