THRIFTWOOD MEMORIAL SCOUT CAMPSITE

Registered charity 1138253 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

a). The provision of recreational and leisure time activities provided in the interest of social welfare, designed to improve their conditions of lifeb). Providing support and activities which develop their skills, capacities and capabilities to enable them to participate in society as mature and responsible individualsc). To promote the aims of The Scout Association

Objects

TO ADVANCE IN LIFE AND HELP YOUNG PEOPLE THROUGH;A) THE PROVISION OF RECREATIONAL AND LEISURE TIME ACTIVITIES PROVIDED IN THE INTEREST OF SOCIAL WELFARE, DESIGNED TO IMPROVE THEIR CONDITIONS OF LIFE,B) PROVIDING SUPPORT AND ACTIVITIES WHICH DEVELOP THEIR SKILLS, CAPACITIES AND CAPABILITIES TO ENABLE THEM TO PARTICIPATE IN SOCIETY AS MATURE AND RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS.

Area of benefit: UNDEFINED. IN PRACTICE, LOCAL

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · Amateur Sport · Environment/conservation/heritage · website · Get email alerts

Registered contact address: Brentwood, East of England, England (from the postcode on the register)

Latest income
£832k
Latest spending
£917k
Registered
2010
Accounts read
FY2024

Financial health, per its FY2024 accounts

The accounts state that the charity reported a net loss of £85,199 for the year ended 31 December 2024, resulting in a decrease in total funds from £1,194,043 to £1,108,844. Per the balance sheet, unrestricted reserves are held entirely in the General fund with a closing balance of £1,108,844. The document does not disclose a specific reserves policy target or any material uncertainties regarding the charity's ability to continue as a going concern.

Automated summary of the FY2024 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 2 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/12/2024)

Total income
£832k
Total spending
£917k
Cost of raising funds
£23k
Reserves (reported)
£0
Employees
0

Reported reserves equal ~0.0 months of spending — in the bottom quarter for charities its size (median 5.2 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, largest income source: Charitable activities (99% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 2.7% of total income — below the median for charities its size (4.9%) (benchmarks).

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Essex

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2024£832k£917k
31/12/2023£854k£820k
31/12/2022£782k£689k
31/12/2021£574k£494k
31/12/2020£184k£424k

Common questions

Is THRIFTWOOD MEMORIAL SCOUT CAMPSITE financially healthy?

Per its FY2024 accounts: The accounts state that the charity reported a net loss of £85,199 for the year ended 31 December 2024, resulting in a decrease in total funds from £1,194,043 to £1,108,844. Per the balance sheet, unrestricted reserves are held entirely in the General fund with a closing balance of £1,108,844. The document does not disclose a specific reserves policy target or any material uncertainties regarding the charity's ability to continue as a going concern. Its FY2024 accounts were independently examined.

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with WALESBY FOREST.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
THRIFTWOOD MEMORIAL SCOUT CAMPSITE£832k——unclear—no doubt
WALESBY FOREST FY2025£1.5m£70,000 - £80,0001below—no doubt
LEES WOOD CAMPSITE FY2025£61k——unclear—no doubt
EATON VALE SCOUT & GUIDE ACTIVITY CENTRE LIMITED FY2025£646k—0unclear—no doubt
WARE DISTRICT SCOUT COUNCIL FY2024£61k—0unclear—no doubt
WOODLARKS CAMP SITE TRUST FY2025£225k—0unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.