SPORTS AID TRUST
Registered charity 1111612 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as SPORTSAID TRUST
To provide funds and to assist in the organisation and provision of facilities which will enable and encourage pupils at schools and universities to participate in physical recreation and sport.
Causes: Amateur Sport · website · Get email alerts
Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts
The accounts state that total funds increased to £6,472,125, with unrestricted general funds at £518,498. The charity relies heavily on restricted grants from Sport England, which constituted the majority of its £15.96 million income. The trustees confirmed adequate resources for the foreseeable future despite noting the limited effectiveness of the trading subsidiary in generating additional income.
Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.
What the accounts disclose
Related-party transaction: Hogarth Worldwide Limited provided pro-bono gift in kind website and support services.
“During the year Hogarth Worldwide Limited, a company with a common director, provided pro-bono gift in kind website and support services to the charity of circa £75k (2024: c£75k). At the year end the charity was owed £68,568 (2024: £38,281) from its subsidiary company, SAF Promotions Limited. The charity also received income of £1,291 (2024: £1,561) in respect of management services provided.” — page 39
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Trading subsidiary: SAF Promotions Limited
“The investment in the subsidiary represents 100% of the ordinary share capital of SAF Promotions Limited, a company registered in the UK (Company number 02508698). The principal activity of SAF Promotions Limited is fundraising and promotional activity for Sports Aid Trust.” — page 33
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Accounts audited by Not stated. Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.
Leadership, per the charity’s website
- HRH The Princess of Wales — Patron (source)
Listed on the charity’s own website when we last crawled it; roles may have changed. Pay-band disclosures above are anonymous statutory disclosures and are not attributed to any named individual.
Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook · instagram
Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/07/2025)
Cost of raising funds
£497k
Reported reserves equal ~0.6 months of spending — in the bottom quarter for charities its size (median 4.6 months; benchmarks).
Per its annual return, largest income source: Charitable activities (95% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.
Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 3.0% of total income — below the median for charities its size (3.8%) (benchmarks).
Register events
- Received assets from another charity (13/11/2013) — per the register’s event history; asset transfers typically record mergers or reorganisations.
- Received assets from another charity (28/02/2013) — per the register’s event history; asset transfers typically record mergers or reorganisations.
- Received assets from another charity (19/04/2012) — per the register’s event history; asset transfers typically record mergers or reorganisations.
- Received assets from another charity (02/04/2012) — per the register’s event history; asset transfers typically record mergers or reorganisations.
- Received assets from another charity (14/03/2012) — per the register’s event history; asset transfers typically record mergers or reorganisations.
- Received assets from another charity (14/03/2012) — per the register’s event history; asset transfers typically record mergers or reorganisations.
- Ama Agbeze
- Clare Bishop
- David Thomas
- Elizabeth Ann George
- Matthew Pinsent
- Penelope Brough
- VALERIE SIM
Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).
Operates in: Northern Ireland · Scotland · Throughout England And Wales
Income and spending
Common questions
Is SPORTS AID TRUST financially healthy?
Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that total funds increased to £6,472,125, with unrestricted general funds at £518,498. The charity relies heavily on restricted grants from Sport England, which constituted the majority of its £15.96 million income. The trustees confirmed adequate resources for the foreseeable future despite noting the limited effectiveness of the trading subsidiary in generating additional income. Its FY2025 accounts were audited by Not stated.
Who funds SPORTS AID TRUST?
Funders whose own accounts filings name SPORTS AID TRUST as a grant recipient include THE THOMPSON FAMILY CHARITABLE TRUST, THE BRITFORD BRIDGE TRUST, DORIS FIELD CHARITABLE TRUST.
Known funders
Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.
Government & lottery funding
Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).
Funders of similar charities
Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.
Charities like this
Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with THE SPORTS COUNCIL TRUST COMPANY.
Side by side with its peers
Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.