WHITWORTH PLAYGROUP

Registered charity 1099853 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

To work with local families to aid them in the education and development of young children. To promote the needs of children with special needs when preparing to go into education.

Objects

TO ENHANCE THE DEVELOPMENT AND EDUCATION OF CHILDREN PRIMARILY UNDER STATUTORY SCHOOL AGE BY ENCOURAGING PARENTS TO UNDERSTAND AND PROVIDE FOR THE NEEDS OF THEIR CHILDREN THROUGH COMMUNITY GROUPS AND BY:(A) OFFERING APPROPRIATE PLAY FACILITIES AND TRAINING COURSES, TOGETHER WITH THE RIGHT OF PARENTS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR AND TO BECOME INVOLVED IN THE ACTIVITIES OF SUCH GROUPS, ENSURING THAT SUCH GROUPS OFFER OPPORTUNITIES FOR ALL CHILDREN REGARDLESS OF RACE, CULTURE, RELIGION OR MEANS(B) ENCOURAGING THE STUDY OF THE NEEDS OF SUCH CHILDREN AND THEIR FAMILIES AND PROMOTING PUBLIC INTEREST IN AND RECOGNITION OF SUCH NEEDS IN THE LOCAL AREAS(C) INSTIGATING AND ADHERING TO AND FURTHERING THE AIM OF THE PRE-SCHOOL LEARNING ALLIANCE.

Area of benefit: NOT DEFINED. IN PRACTICE WHITWORTH

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£101k
Latest spending
£111k
Registered
2003
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state a reserves policy of six months of running costs. The document does not disclose the actual unrestricted reserves figure, total income, or total expenditure, nor does it mention any audit or independent examination.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Reserves policy: six months running costs
“WE AIM TO HAVE SIX MONTHS RUNNING COSTS IN RESERVE.” — page 5
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

In its annual return the charity told the Commission it is also regulated by: Ofsted (Office For Standards In Education). This is the charity’s own declaration; it is not a rating and has not been verified by the Commission or by this site.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Lancashire

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/08/2025£101k£111k
31/08/2024£114k£102k
31/08/2023£89k£94k
31/08/2022£88k£99k
31/08/2021£68k£90k

Common questions

Is WHITWORTH PLAYGROUP financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state a reserves policy of six months of running costs. The document does not disclose the actual unrestricted reserves figure, total income, or total expenditure, nor does it mention any audit or independent examination.

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

FunderSimilar charities fundedAmount to them
THOMAS HARLEY'S ESTATE CHARITY1£0

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with WORTH PARK PLAYGROUP.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
WHITWORTH PLAYGROUP£101k—0unclear—no doubt
WORTH PARK PLAYGROUP FY2025£143k—0unclear—no doubt
SUTTON CENTRE UNDER 5S PLAYGROUP FY2025£104k—0unclear—no doubt
WIRKSWORTH PRE-SCHOOL PLAYGROUP FY2025£122k—0unclear—no doubt
HUNSWORTH PLAYGROUP FY2025£101k—0unclear—no doubt
WINTON PLAYGROUP FY2025£233k—0above—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.