1ST CASTLEBERG (SETTLE) SCOUT GROUP
1st Castleberg (Settle ) Scout Group provides outdoor and indoor activities for boys and girls aged 6 to 14. The group is part of the wider Scout movement.
Objects
TO PROMOTE THE DEVELOPMENT OF YOUNG PEOPLE IN ACHIEVING THEIR FULL PHYSICAL, INTELLECTUAL, SOCIAL AND SPIRITUAL POTENTIALS, AS INDIVIDUALS, AS RESPONSIBLE CITIZENS AND AS MEMBERS OF THEIR LOCAL, NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITIES
Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts
The accounts state that the charity held unrestricted reserves of approximately £5,000, which meets its stated policy target of four months' running costs. The charity's total income was £68,459, with the majority derived from membership subscriptions and grants, while total expenditure amounted to £189,015, largely driven by extension works. The filing does not disclose an independent audit or examiner report.
What the accounts disclose
“The Group Trustee Board considers that the group should hold a sum equivalent to 4 months running costs, circa £5,000.”
Policies the charity declares
- Bullying and harassment policy and procedures
- Complaints handling
- Complaints policy and procedures
- Conflicting interests
- Financial reserves policy and procedures
- Internal charity financial controls policy and procedures
- Internal risk management policy and procedures
- Investing charity funds policy and procedures
- Investment
- Paying staff
- Risk management
- Safeguarding policy and procedures
- Safeguarding vulnerable beneficiaries
- Serious incident reporting policy and procedures
- Social media policy and procedures
- Trustee conflicts of interest policy and procedures
- Trustee expenses policy and procedures
- Volunteer management
Trustees
- Ian Dryburghchair
- CAROLE JM OGILVIE
- CHERRY ANN FLITCROFT
- Catherine Tazzyman
- Daniel Nelson
- JANE NELSON
- JOHN HALL
- James Robert Armstrong
- Thomas Littlefield
Income and spending
| Financial year end | Income | Spending |
|---|---|---|
| 31/03/2026 | £24k | £17k |
| 31/03/2025 | £68k | £189k |
| 31/03/2024 | £61k | £42k |
| 31/03/2023 | £25k | £10k |
| 31/03/2022 | £19k | £11k |
Common questions
Is 1ST CASTLEBERG (SETTLE) SCOUT GROUP financially healthy?
Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity held unrestricted reserves of approximately £5,000, which meets its stated policy target of four months' running costs. The charity's total income was £68,459, with the majority derived from membership subscriptions and grants, while total expenditure amounted to £189,015, largely driven by extension works. The filing does not disclose an independent audit or examiner report.
Government & lottery funding
| Funder | Date | Amount | Purpose |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK government | 21/05/2024 | £18k | Platinum Jubilee Village Halls Fund |
| The National Lottery Community Fund | 08/09/2023 | £10k | New Entrance with Passenger Lift for Settle Drill Hall |