FIBROMYALGIA ACTION UK

Registered charity 1042582 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as FIBROMYALGIA ASSOCIATION UK, FMA UK

THE CHARITY PROVIDES INFORMATION AND SUPPORT TO PEOPLE SUFFERING FROM FIBROMYALGIA IN THE UK. IT ALSO RAISES AWARENESS OF THE CONDITION AMONGST MEDICAL PROFESSIONALS AND PROMOTES RESEARCH.

Objects

(1) TO RELIEVE THE SUFFERING OF PEOPLE WITH FIBROMYALGIA (2) TO PROMOTE THE ADVANCEMENT OF MEDICAL RESEARCH FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT INTO THE CAUSE, CURE, PREVENTION AND RELIEF OF FIBROMYALGIA

Area of benefit: UNITED KINGDOM

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives · website · Get email alerts

Registered contact address: Renfrewshire, Scotland (from the postcode on the register)

Latest income
£223k
Latest spending
£138k
Registered
1994
Accounts read
FY2024

Financial health, per its FY2024 accounts

The accounts state that the charity held unrestricted reserves of £797,064 at the end of the financial year, representing a significant increase from the previous year's £709,379. The filing confirms the company is entitled to exemption from audit under the small companies regime and does not disclose any specific reserves policy target. The financial position is described as giving a true and fair view with no material uncertainties noted regarding going concern.

Automated summary of the FY2024 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Public fundraising profile: JustGiving — Fibromyalgia Action UK (matched by registered charity number).

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook

Register events

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Northern Ireland · Scotland · Throughout England And Wales

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
30/11/2025£223k£138k
30/11/2024£205k£115k
30/11/2023£491k£107k
30/11/2022£103k£96k
30/11/2021£155k£127k

Common questions

Is FIBROMYALGIA ACTION UK financially healthy?

Per its FY2024 accounts: The accounts state that the charity held unrestricted reserves of £797,064 at the end of the financial year, representing a significant increase from the previous year's £709,379. The filing confirms the company is entitled to exemption from audit under the small companies regime and does not disclose any specific reserves policy target. The financial position is described as giving a true and fair view with no material uncertainties noted regarding going concern. Its FY2024 accounts were independently examined.

Who funds FIBROMYALGIA ACTION UK?

Funders whose own accounts filings name FIBROMYALGIA ACTION UK as a grant recipient include JOHN SWIRE 1989 CHARITABLE TRUST.

Known funders

Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.

FunderYearAmountPurpose (as stated by the funder)
JOHN SWIRE 1989 CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2021£1k

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
The National Lottery Community Fund03/12/2004£2kThere is no project name available for this record

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with COMPASSION IN ACTION.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
FIBROMYALGIA ACTION UK£223k—0unclear—no doubt
COMPASSION IN ACTION FY2025£801k—0above—no doubt
IMAGINE ACT AND SUCCEED FY2025£12.1m——above—no doubt
THE BRITISH PORPHYRIA ASSOCIATION FY2026£179k—0unclear—no doubt
ACTION IN AFRICA FY2025£63k—0unclear—no doubt
MYELOPATHY.ORG FY2025£93k—0above—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.