WEST WICKHAM AND SHIRLEY BAPTIST CHURCH — grant history

Registered charity 1166796 · filings on the Charity Commission register · its own accounts analysis · funder finder · deadlines · watch this funder · check a grantee list

Latest income
£306k
Grants listed (FY2024)
4
Listed grants total
£1k
Accounts grants total
£2k

listed grants do not fully reconcile with the accounts total — list may be partialextracted from its FY2024 accounts

What this funder supports

Based on the register classifications and operating areas of the grant recipients we could match to the charity register (a subset of all grantees).

Causes funded
Where grantees operate
  • Nepal (2 grantees)
  • Spain (2 grantees)
  • India (2 grantees)
  • Mozambique (2 grantees)
  • Peru (2 grantees)
  • Philippines (2 grantees)
  • Albania (2 grantees)
  • France (2 grantees)
  • Israel (2 grantees)
  • Sri Lanka (2 grantees)

What changed: FY2023 → FY2024

Grantees that appear, disappear or move by 50%+ between the two most recent filings we have read. A grantee “dropped” may simply have received a multi-year grant earlier.

ChangeGranteeFY2023FY2024
newOther—£20
upTHE LONDON BAPTIST ASSOCIATION£356£569
downTHE GEORGE MULLER CHARITABLE TRUST£520£70
not listedSHIRLEY NEIGHBOURHOOD CARE£2k—
not listedPilgrims Hospice£136—
not listedShrublands Foodbank£125—

Grants made, per its accounts filings

Download this grant history as CSV (open data, provenance and licence noted in the file).

RecipientYearAmountPurpose
London Baptist AssociationFY2024£569
Baptist Missionary SocietyFY2024£531
George Muller Charitable TrustFY2024£70
OtherFY2024£20
Shirley Neighbourhood CareFY2023£2kLunch Club partnership
Baptist Missionary SocietyFY2023£647Missionary support
George Muller Charitable TrustFY2023£520Not specified in grantee list, likely grant received or misclassification in note, but listed under Grants by Institution. However, looking at Note 3b, it lists 'Grants by Recipient Type' and then 'Grants by Institution'. The items under 'Grants by Institution' are the recipients of grants MADE BY the charity. George Muller Charitable Trust is listed there. Wait, George Muller is a charity. Did this church give to them? Or did they receive? The header is 'Grants by Institution'. Usually, this means grants paid out. However, George Muller Charitable Trust is a major grant-making body. Let's look at the context. Note 3b header: 'Analysis of Grants'. Sub-header: 'Grants by Recipient Type'. Then 'Grants by Institution'. Then 'Grants to Institutions'. The amount 3,969 is 'Grants to Institutions'. The list below breaks down that 3,969. Shirley Neighbourhood Care (2,170) + Baptist Missionary Society (647) + George Muller Charitable Trust (520) + London Baptist Association (356) + Pilgrims Hospice (136) + Shrublands Foodbank (125) = 3,954. Close to 3,969. The difference might be rounding or other small grants. It is highly unusual for a local church to give grants to George Muller Charitable Trust. It is more likely they *received* a grant from them. However, the table structure 'Grants by Institution' under 'Analysis of Grants' (which is an expenditure note) strongly implies these are grants *paid*. Let's re-read carefully. Note 3 is 'Expenditure on charitable activities'. Item 'Grants/Gifts' is 5,352 total. 3,969 is 'Grants to Institutions'. 1,383 is 'Grants to Individuals'. The list under 'Grants by Institution' sums to 3,954. The total is 3,969. The items are likely the recipients. But George Muller? Let's check if 'George Muller Charitable Trust' is a grantee. If the church received a grant, it would be in Income. It is not in Income. Therefore, it must be an expenditure. Did the church pay a grant to George Muller? Or is the label 'Grants by Institution' misleading and it means 'Grants from Institutions'? No, Note 3 is Expenditure. So these are grants paid. It is possible the church made a donation/grant to the Trust. Or perhaps the Trust is a partner. Given the rule
London Baptist AssociationFY2023£356Not specified
Pilgrims HospiceFY2023£136Not specified
Shrublands FoodbankFY2023£125Not specified
Shirley Neighbourhood CareFY2022£7k
Christians against PovertyFY2022£600
DECFY2022£135
Shrublands FoodbankFY2022£120
OtherFY2022£43
Christians against PovertyFY2021£5k
London Baptist Assoc.FY2021£500
Shrublands FoodbankFY2021£225
SleepPodFY2021£25

About this data

This grant list is extracted by automated reading of the grant-maker’s own accounts PDFs as filed with the Charity Commission, and cross-checked against the accounts’ stated grant totals (listed sum 1190 vs reference 1538 (22.6% diff; ref=stated)). Recipients are linked to register entries only on an exact charity-number or unambiguous exact-name match. If you represent this funder and want a correction, contact us.