QUEEN ELIZABETH'S FOUNDATION

Registered charity 526600 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as QUEEN ELIZABETH'S GRAMMAR SCHOOL FOUNDATION

Provision of grants to students for higher education

Objects

1.IN PROVIDING FOR QUEEN ELIZABETH'S HIGH SCHOOL, MIDDLETON AND MIDDLETON HIGH SCHOOL SUCH SPECIAL BENEFITS OF A KIND NOT NORMALLY PROVIDED BY THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY, OR WHERE THE SCHOOL BUDGET HAS BEEN DELEGATED TO THE GOVERNORS OF THE SCHOOLS, OR EITHER OF THEM, UNDER THE EDUCATION ACTS 1944 TO 1988, THEN OF A KIND NOT NORMALLY PROVIDED BY THE GOVERNORS IN EXERCISE OF THEIR POWERS UNDER CHAPTER III OF THE EDUCATION REFORM ACT 1988; 2. IN PROMOTING THE EDUCATION (INCLUDING SOCIAL AND PHYSICAL TRAINING) OF PERSONS UNDER THE AGE OF 25 YEARS WHO ARE ATTENDING THOSE SCHOOLS OR WHO HAVE ATTENDED THOSE SCHOOLS, THE FORMER QUEEN ELIZABETH'S (VOLUNTARY CONTROLLED) HIGH SCHOOL, MIDDLETON OR MOORCLOSE HIGH SCHOOL MIDDLETON FOR A PERIOD NOT LESS THAN TWO YEARS AND WHO ARE IN NEED OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE.

Area of benefit: FORMER BOROUGH OF MIDDLETON

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · Get email alerts

Latest income
£46k
Latest spending
£56k
Registered
1972
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity reported an operating deficit of £10,169 for the year ended 31 December 2025, compared to a deficit of £3,021 in the prior year. Total unrestricted funds decreased from £649,913 to £639,744, while total net assets stood at £839,744. The document does not disclose any specific reserves policy or material uncertainties regarding going concern.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Largest income source: Investment Income
“INCOME Investment Income 46,105”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Care Quality Commission ratings

CQC inspection ratings for services run by a provider matching this charity’s name (matched by name; verify provider identity on CQC’s site).

Register events

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Lancashire · Rochdale

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2025£46k£56k
31/12/2024£44k£47k
31/12/2023£44k£39k
31/12/2022£43k£40k
31/12/2021£45k£39k

Common questions

Is QUEEN ELIZABETH'S FOUNDATION financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity reported an operating deficit of £10,169 for the year ended 31 December 2025, compared to a deficit of £3,021 in the prior year. Total unrestricted funds decreased from £649,913 to £639,744, while total net assets stood at £839,744. The document does not disclose any specific reserves policy or material uncertainties regarding going concern. Its FY2025 accounts were independently examined.