SANDOWN & SHANKLIN INDEPENDENT LIFEBOAT

Registered charity 299584 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as SANDOWN AND SHANKLIN INSHORE LIFEBOAT, SOUTH WIGHT INSHORE RESCUE

Provide lifeboat service.

Objects

TO PRESERVE AND SAVE LIFE AT SEA FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC BY: (A) THE PROMOTION OF TECHNICAL EDUCATION IN LIFE SAVING AND TO PROVIDE SUITABLE TRAINING OF PERSONNEL. (B) THE PROVISION OF VOLUNTEER LIFE-SAVING SERVICES TO THE BEACHES AND COASTLINE IN THE AREA FROM BEMBRIDGE WEST TO ST. CATHRINE POINT, AND TO ENSURE THAT THIS SERVICE IS EFFICIENT AD DEPENDABLE IN EVERY WAY.

Area of benefit: AREA FROM BEMGRIDGE WEST TO ST. CATHRINE POINT

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: General Charitable Purposes · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£87k
Latest spending
£36k
Registered
1988
Accounts read
FY2024

Financial health, per its FY2024 accounts

The accounts state that the charity held unrestricted cash reserves of £313,945 as of 31 October 2024, held in interest-bearing savings and running accounts. The charity received total income of approximately £39,779 from donations, collection boxes, and lotto, while fundraising costs were £4,370. No specific reserves policy target is stated, and the document does not disclose any material uncertainties regarding going concern.

Automated summary of the FY2024 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Largest income source: Donations (59% of income)
“Sandown & Shanklin Independent Lifeboat gratefully received a total of £23,638 in donations this year.” — page 7
Per its FY2024 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Isle Of Wight

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/10/2025£87k£36k
31/10/2024£58k£36k
31/10/2023£37k£16k
31/10/2022£58k£34k
31/10/2021£40k£26k

Common questions

Is SANDOWN & SHANKLIN INDEPENDENT LIFEBOAT financially healthy?

Per its FY2024 accounts: The accounts state that the charity held unrestricted cash reserves of £313,945 as of 31 October 2024, held in interest-bearing savings and running accounts. The charity received total income of approximately £39,779 from donations, collection boxes, and lotto, while fundraising costs were £4,370. No specific reserves policy target is stated, and the document does not disclose any material uncertainties regarding going concern.

Who funds SANDOWN & SHANKLIN INDEPENDENT LIFEBOAT?

Funders whose own accounts filings name SANDOWN & SHANKLIN INDEPENDENT LIFEBOAT as a grant recipient include ISLE OF WIGHT FOUNDATION, YORKSHIRE BUILDING SOCIETY CHARITABLE FOUNDATION.

Known funders

Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.

FunderYearAmountPurpose (as stated by the funder)
ISLE OF WIGHT FOUNDATIONFY2021£3kThe application was for funding toward the replacement of the lifeboat station roof. The costs are for scaffolding, removal of the existing roof and replacement
YORKSHIRE BUILDING SOCIETY CHARITABLE FOUNDATIONFY2022£2k

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
UK government—£16kInshore & Inland Rescue Boat Grant Fund