CHELMSFORD AMATEUR OPERATIC AND DRAMATIC SOCIETY

Registered charity 292215 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as C A O D S

Performing musical theatre for the enjoyment of the company as well as the local community.

Objects

TO EDUCATE THE PUBLIC IN THE DRAMATIC AND OPERATIC ARTS AND TO FURTHER THE DEVELOPMENT OF PUBLIC APPRECIATION AND TASTE IN THE SAID ARTS.

Area of benefit: CHELSMFORD

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Arts/culture/heritage/science · website · Get email alerts

Registered contact address: Chelmsford, East of England, England (from the postcode on the register)

Latest income
£120k
Latest spending
£111k
Registered
1985
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity ended the year with a deficit of £966, resulting in a reduction of General and Social Funds from £73,101 to £72,135. The charity holds unrestricted reserves of £72,135 and has no stated reserves policy target. The filing does not disclose any material uncertainties or risks to its ongoing operations.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Accounts audited. Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): instagram

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Essex

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/05/2026£120k£111k
31/05/2025£92k£90k
31/05/2024£104k£105k
31/05/2023£102k£92k
31/05/2022£63k£86k

Common questions

Is CHELMSFORD AMATEUR OPERATIC AND DRAMATIC SOCIETY financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity ended the year with a deficit of £966, resulting in a reduction of General and Social Funds from £73,101 to £72,135. The charity holds unrestricted reserves of £72,135 and has no stated reserves policy target. The filing does not disclose any material uncertainties or risks to its ongoing operations. Its FY2025 accounts were audited.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with DARTFORD AMATEUR OPERATIC AND DRAMATIC SOCIETY.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
CHELMSFORD AMATEUR OPERATIC AND DRAMATIC SOCIETY£120k—0unclear—no doubt
DARTFORD AMATEUR OPERATIC AND DRAMATIC SOCIETY FY2025£149k—0unclear—no doubt
CHELMSFORD THEATRE WORKSHOP FY2025£38k—0above—no doubt
COLCHESTER OPERATIC SOCIETY FY2025£111k—0unclear—no doubt
THE STOCK EXCHANGE DRAMATIC AND OPERATIC SOCIETY FY2024£157k—0above—no doubt
THE COUNTY AMATEUR OPERATIC AND DRAMATIC SOCIETY (LINCOLN) FY2025£85k——unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.