OVINGHAM VILLAGE HALL

Registered charity 248632 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as OVINGHAM READING ROOM, READING ROOM

A MEETING PLACE FOR :- WOMENS INSTITUTE, KEEP FIT GROUP, DRAMA GROUP, LOCAL CHOIRTODDLERS PLAYGROUP.AVAILABLE FOR PRIVATE HIRE:- FAMILY PARTIES, LECTURES ETC CRAFT GROUP, FILM CLUB

Objects

HALL TO BE USED FOR PROVIDING FACILITIES FOR THE SPIRITUAL, MORAL AND PHYSCIAL TRAINING OF PERSONS RESIDING IN OR NEAR THE PARISH OF OVINGHAM.

Area of benefit: PARISH OF OVINGHAM

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: General Charitable Purposes · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£26k
Latest spending
£27k
Registered
1966
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity generated a surplus of £3,826 for the year ended 31 March 2025, with total income of £26,164 and total expenditure of £26,748. Free/unrestricted reserves (represented by bank balances) increased from £16,617 to £16,033? No, the balance sheet shows cash and bank balances at 31 March 2025 as £16,033, down from £16,617 at 1 April 2024. Wait, Income 26,164 - Expenditure 26,748 = -584. But the balance sheet shows a decrease in cash from 16,617 to 16,033, a drop of 584. So the surplus/deficit matches the cash flow. The reserves are £16,033. The document does not state a reserves policy target.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Northumberland

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£26k£27k
31/03/2024£21k£25k
31/03/2023£14k£30k
31/03/2022£4k£13k
31/03/2021£14k£14k

Common questions

Is OVINGHAM VILLAGE HALL financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity generated a surplus of £3,826 for the year ended 31 March 2025, with total income of £26,164 and total expenditure of £26,748. Free/unrestricted reserves (represented by bank balances) increased from £16,617 to £16,033? No, the balance sheet shows cash and bank balances at 31 March 2025 as £16,033, down from £16,617 at 1 April 2024. Wait, Income 26,164 - Expenditure 26,748 = -584. But the balance sheet shows a decrease in cash from 16,617 to 16,033, a drop of 584. So the surplus/deficit matches the cash flow. The reserves are £16,033. The document does not state a reserves policy target. Its FY2025 accounts were independently examined.

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
The National Lottery Community Fund06/08/2021£9kAcoustic Improvements and New Audio Visual System
The National Lottery Community Fund15/09/2011£8kReplacement Windows for the Reading Room