THE BRITISH EDITORIAL SOCIETY OF BONE AND JOINT SURGERY

Registered charity 209299 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as JBJS, JOURNAL OF BONE AND JOINT SURGERY

Publish The Bone and Joint Journal, Bone & Joint Research, and Bone & Joint 360.Maintain websites containing key information for orthopaedic surgeons' education. Encourage authors to prepare and submit high-quality research.Provide production and publishing services to orthopaedic associations.

Causes: Education/training · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£2.6m
Latest spending
£3.0m
Registered
1962
Accounts read
FY2024

Financial health, per its FY2024 accounts

The accounts include an independent auditor's report issued by Crowe U. K. LLP on 9 June 2025, confirming that the audit was performed in accordance with auditing standards. The report addresses the detection of irregularities and fraud but does not disclose specific financial health metrics, reserves, or going concern uncertainties within the provided text.

Automated summary of the FY2024 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Accounts audited by Crowe U. K. LLP. Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Corporate structure

Company officers (Companies House)

Current officers of the charity’s own company per the Companies House register, cross-checked against the Charity Commission trustee list by name. A director not on the trustee list is usually a timing or naming difference between the two registers — check both records before drawing conclusions.

Official officers record.

Property (HM Land Registry)

3 registered titles in England and Wales held by the charity’s company or corporate body (2 freehold). All charity-held property. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright, OGL v3.0.

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/12/2025)

Total income
£2.6m
Total spending
£3.0m
Cost of raising funds
£66k
Reserves (reported)
£13.2m
Employees
17

Reported reserves equal ~53.1 months of spending — in the top quarter for charities its size (median 4.8 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, largest income source: Charitable activities (68% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 2.5% of total income — below the median for charities its size (5.2%) (benchmarks).

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: City Of Westminster

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2025£2.6m£3.0m
31/12/2024£2.5m£2.8m
31/12/2023£2.4m£2.6m
31/12/2022£2.3m£2.4m
31/12/2021£2.5m£2.4m

Common questions

Is THE BRITISH EDITORIAL SOCIETY OF BONE AND JOINT SURGERY financially healthy?

Per its FY2024 accounts: The accounts include an independent auditor's report issued by Crowe U. K. LLP on 9 June 2025, confirming that the audit was performed in accordance with auditing standards. The report addresses the detection of irregularities and fraud but does not disclose specific financial health metrics, reserves, or going concern uncertainties within the provided text. Its FY2024 accounts were audited by Crowe U. K. LLP.

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with THE SAID BUSINESS SCHOOL FOUNDATION.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
THE BRITISH EDITORIAL SOCIETY OF BONE AND JOINT SURGERY£2.6m——unclear—no doubt
THE SAID BUSINESS SCHOOL FOUNDATION FY2025£1.4m——unclear—no doubt
JOSEPH LEVY FOUNDATION FY2025£757k——below—no doubt
The British Society of Periodontology and Implant Dentistry FY2024£342k—0unclear—no doubt
Association of Laparoscopic & Robotic Surgeons of Great Britain & Ireland FY2025£307k——unclear—no doubt
THE EPHESIAN FUND FY2024£4.7m—0unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.