THE LONDON NATURAL HISTORY SOCIETY
Members study and record the plants, birds, insects and other wildlife, and their habitats, in the London area, through field meetings, talks, and publications. The general public is welcome at all events. Grants are available to support research and the conservation of biodiversity.
Objects
ITS OBJECTS SHALL BE THE STUDY AND RECORDING OF NATURAL HISTORY, ARCHAEOLOGY AND OTHER KINDRED SUBJECTS ESPECIALLY WITHIN TWENTY MILES OF ST PAUL’S CATHEDRAL, THE PROMOTION OF SCIENTIFIC INVESTIGATIONS, THE APPRECIATION AND CONSERVATION OF THE NATURAL ENVIRONMENT AND THE PUBLICATION IN THE SOCIETY’S JOURNALS OF SCIENTIFIC AND EDUCATIONAL PAPERS RELATING PARTICULARLY TO THE LONDON AREA.
Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts
The accounts state a deficit of £18,745 for the year ended 30 June 2025, compared to a surplus of £3,561 in the previous year. Total receipts were £358,662 against total payments of £327,630, resulting in a net decrease in assets. The document does not disclose a reserves policy or specific unrestricted reserve figures.
What the accounts disclose
Policies the charity declares
- Complaints handling
- Financial reserves policy and procedures
- Internal charity financial controls policy and procedures
- Investing charity funds policy and procedures
- Safeguarding policy and procedures
- Trustee conflicts of interest policy and procedures
- Trustee expenses policy and procedures
Trustees
- Annie Elizabeth Wilson
- Dr Anthony John Alexander Madgwick
- Dr Elizabeth Andrew
- James Richard Lovely
- Joanne Louise Maddox
- John Kennedy Cruickshank
- Kat Duke
- Leslie Robert Williams
- Mark Andrew Spencer
- Noel Brock
- Peter Mantel
- Robin Alastair Blades
Income and spending
| Financial year end | Income | Spending |
|---|---|---|
| 30/06/2025 | £33k | £52k |
| 30/06/2024 | £40k | £37k |
| 30/06/2023 | £62k | £60k |
| 30/06/2022 | £45k | £38k |
| 30/06/2021 | £32k | £29k |
Common questions
Is THE LONDON NATURAL HISTORY SOCIETY financially healthy?
Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state a deficit of £18,745 for the year ended 30 June 2025, compared to a surplus of £3,561 in the previous year. Total receipts were £358,662 against total payments of £327,630, resulting in a net decrease in assets. The document does not disclose a reserves policy or specific unrestricted reserve figures. Its FY2025 accounts were independently examined.