BRENTWOOD COMMUNITY AND VOLUNTARY SERVICE

Registered charity 1199229 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as BRENTWOOD CVS

Brentwood CVS is a local independent infrastructure organisation that exists to promote, support and strengthen the voluntary and community sector in the borough.

Objects

TO PROMOTE ANY CHARITABLE PURPOSES FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COMMUNITY IN THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT DISTRICT OF BRENTWOOD AND IN PARTICULAR THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION THE PROTECTION OF HEALTH AND THE RELIEF OF POVERTY DISTRESS AND SICKNESS AND IN FURTHERANCE OF THE SAID PURPOSES BUT NOT FURTHER OR OTHERWISE TO PROMOTE AND ORGANISE CO-OPERATION IN THE ACHIEVEMENT OF THE SAME AND TO THAT END TO BRING TOGETHER IN COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES OF THE VOLUNTARY ORGANISATIONS AND STATUTORY AUTHORITIES WITHIN THE AREA OF BENEFIT

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: General Charitable Purposes · Education/training · The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives · Disability · The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty · Economic/community Development/employment · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£93k
Latest spending
£99k
Registered
2022
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity has secured new streams of funding and generated income from community weddings to support its initiatives. The trustees confirm that proper accounting records are kept and the accounts give a true record of income and expenditure. The document does not disclose specific unrestricted reserves figures or a reserves policy target amount in GBP.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Reserves policy: six months of running costs
“BCVS Reserves Policy - maintain a reserve equivalent to 6 months running costs” — page 10
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Register events

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Essex

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£93k£99k
31/03/2024£162k£104k
31/03/2023£11k£7k

Common questions

Is BRENTWOOD COMMUNITY AND VOLUNTARY SERVICE financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity has secured new streams of funding and generated income from community weddings to support its initiatives. The trustees confirm that proper accounting records are kept and the accounts give a true record of income and expenditure. The document does not disclose specific unrestricted reserves figures or a reserves policy target amount in GBP. Its FY2025 accounts were independently examined.

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
The National Lottery Community Fund28/08/2025£13kThe Brentwood Dementia Support Hub - The Pilot Project
Postcode Lottery28/04/2025£8kUnrestricted Funding