RAINBOW PRE-SCHOOL (HANDFORTH)

Registered charity 1189426 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

Rainbow Preschool provides care and education for children below the statutory school age in accordance with the requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage documents (DfE)

Objects

THE CHARITY WORKS FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT HAVING AS ITS OBJECTS THE DEVELOPMENT AND EDUCATION OF CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE IN PARTICULAR BY: (1) PROMOTING THEIR CARE AND SAFETY; (2) PROMOTING THEIR EDUCATION AND PROMOTING PARENTAL INVOLVEMENT; (3) PROMOTING THEIR HEALTH AND WELLBEING; (4) PROVIDING SERVICES TO SUPPORT THEM AND THEIR FAMILIES AND CARERS; (5) PROVIDING SERVICES TO INDIVIDUALS HOLDING MEMBERSHIP OF THE CIO; AND (6) FURTHERING THE AIMS OF THE PRE-SCHOOL LEARNING ALLIANCE.

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · Economic/community Development/employment · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£172k
Latest spending
£152k
Registered
2020
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity reported a net deficit of £3,521.92 for the year ended 31 August 2025, compared to a surplus in the prior year. Free reserves held were £64,954, which the trustees consider appropriate against a policy target of up to one year's running costs (approx. £100k). The trustees did not disclose any material uncertainties regarding the charity's ability to continue as a going concern.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Reserves policy: up to 1 years running costs (approx. £100k) (held: £65k)
“an amount of up to 1 years running costs would be an appropriate maximum (approx. £100k)”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Register events

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Cheshire East

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/08/2026£172k£152k
31/08/2025£139k£143k
31/08/2024£147k£143k
31/08/2023£142k£137k
31/08/2022£120k£116k

Common questions

Is RAINBOW PRE-SCHOOL (HANDFORTH) financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity reported a net deficit of £3,521.92 for the year ended 31 August 2025, compared to a surplus in the prior year. Free reserves held were £64,954, which the trustees consider appropriate against a policy target of up to one year's running costs (approx. £100k). The trustees did not disclose any material uncertainties regarding the charity's ability to continue as a going concern.

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
The National Lottery Community Fund10/02/2016£10kRainbow Pre-school Healthy Start Outdoor Area

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with RAINBOW PRE-SCHOOL & EXTENDED SERVICES.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
RAINBOW PRE-SCHOOL (HANDFORTH)£172k—0unclear—no doubt
RAINBOW PRE-SCHOOL & EXTENDED SERVICES FY2025£1.2mUnder £60,0000unclear—no doubt
RAINBOW PRE-SCHOOL (WALLINGFORD) FY2025£295k—0below—no doubt
RAINBOW CHILDREN'S NURSERY LIMITED FY2025£432k—0above—no doubt
RAINBOW TEDDIES PRE-SCHOOL FY2025£149k—0unclear—no doubt
RAINBOW PRE-SCHOOL STANSTED FY2025£247k—0unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.