THE SOCIETY OF ST STEPHEN'S HOUSE
Registered charity 1177459 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register
St Stephens House is an Oxford theological college training ordinands and lay students for Church of England and Anglican ministry worldwide. It offers University of Oxford and Durham Common Award qualifications, plus non-validated courses via the Edward King Centre and Institute of Sacred Music, combining rigorous theological education with practical ministry training.
Causes: General Charitable Purposes · Education/training · Religious Activities · website · Get email alerts
Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts
The accounts state that the charity incurred a net expenditure of £386,157 for the year, resulting in a decrease in total net assets from £14,663,273 to £14,277,116. The charity holds unrestricted reserves of £13,780,701 and maintains significant property investments valued at £4,523,000. Long-term liabilities of £2,715,661 are secured against specific property assets, which the accounts note do not affect the net asset value of the Society.
Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.
What the accounts disclose
Related-party transaction: Donations received from Trustees
“Donations received from Trustees amounted to £261 in the year. The Charity also received grants of £27,000 from the Fellowship of St John, which has one trustee in common with the Charity.” — page 21
“The Charity also received grants of £27,000 from the Fellowship of St John, which has one trustee in common with the Charity.” — page 21
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: Grants from Fellowship of St John
“Donations received from Trustees amounted to £261 in the year. The Charity also received grants of £27,000 from the Fellowship of St John, which has one trustee in common with the Charity.” — page 21
“The Charity also received grants of £27,000 from the Fellowship of St John, which has one trustee in common with the Charity.” — page 21
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Accounts audited by Not stated. Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.
Corporate structure
Company officers (Companies House)
Current officers of the charity’s own company per the Companies House register, cross-checked against the Charity Commission trustee list by name. A director not on the trustee list is usually a timing or naming difference between the two registers — check both records before drawing conclusions.
- BLAND, Simon Beckingham — director, appointed 17/02/2026on trustee list
- WILLIAMS, The Revd Dr Harri — director, appointed 08/09/2025on trustee list
- NAYLOR, Father Grant — director, appointed 23/10/2023on trustee list
- WENZEL, Rev Andreas — director, appointed 23/10/2023on trustee list
- HARRISON, Kate — director, appointed 08/03/2023not on trustee list
- ELLIS, Morag, The Rt Worshipful — director, appointed 08/03/2023not on trustee list
- DOBSON, Edward William — director, appointed 19/11/2021on trustee list
- WARNER, Martin Clive, The Right Reverend Dr — director, appointed 12/02/2018on trustee list
- BAKER, Jonathan Mark Richard, The Right Reverend — director, appointed 12/02/2018on trustee list
- MISEJE, Zdenka — secretary, appointed 21/06/2024
Official officers record.
Property (HM Land Registry)
6 registered titles in England and Wales held by the charity’s company or corporate body (6 freehold); recorded price paid £805k. All charity-held property. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright, OGL v3.0.
Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 30/06/2025)
Cost of raising funds
£244k
Reported reserves equal ~1.5 months of spending — in the bottom quarter for charities its size (median 4.8 months; benchmarks).
Per its annual return, largest income source: Charitable activities (36% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.
Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 15.5% of total income — above the median for charities its size (5.2%) (benchmarks).
Register events
- Received assets from another charity (10/01/2024) — per the register’s event history; asset transfers typically record mergers or reorganisations.
Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).
Operates in: Oxfordshire
Income and spending
Common questions
Is THE SOCIETY OF ST STEPHEN'S HOUSE financially healthy?
Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity incurred a net expenditure of £386,157 for the year, resulting in a decrease in total net assets from £14,663,273 to £14,277,116. The charity holds unrestricted reserves of £13,780,701 and maintains significant property investments valued at £4,523,000. Long-term liabilities of £2,715,661 are secured against specific property assets, which the accounts note do not affect the net asset value of the Society. Its FY2025 accounts were audited by Not stated.
Government & lottery funding
Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).
Funders of similar charities
Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.
Charities like this
Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with ST STEPHEN'S PCC.
Side by side with its peers
Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.