BARTON CHURCH CANTERBURY

Registered charity 1173748 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

Spreading the gospel through our weekly Sunday services, midweek activities for all ages and a diverse range of community events and projects.

Objects

1. THE ADVANCEMENT OF THE CHRISTIAN FAITH IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE BASIS OF FAITH, PRIMARILY, BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY, WITHIN KENT AND THE SURROUNDING NEIGHBOURHOOD.2. SUCH OTHER CHARITABLE PURPOSES AS SHALL, IN THE OPINION OF THE CHARITY TRUSTEES, PUT INTO PRACTICE THE CHRISTIAN FAITH IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE BASIS OF FAITH, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO: THE PREVENTION AND RELIEF OF NEED, HARDSHIP AND SICKNESS; THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION; AND THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION OR OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION OF INDIVIDUALS WHO HAVE NEED OF SUCH FACILITIES BY REASON OF THEIR YOUTH, AGE INFIRMITY OR DISABILITY, FINANCIAL HARDSHIP OR SOCIAL CIRCUMSTANCES WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THEIR CONDITIONS OF LIFE.PROVIDED THAT THE ADVANCEMENT OF SUCH PURPOSES MUST BE UNDERTAKEN IN A MANNER THAT IS CONSISTENT WITH THE DOCTRINAL DISTINCTIVES AND ETHICAL STATEMENTS AS MAY BE ADOPTED AND AMENDED BY THE CIO FROM TIME TO TIME.

Area of benefit: LOCAL

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Religious Activities · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£374k
Latest spending
£363k
Registered
2017
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that an independent audit was not required for the year ended 31 March 2025, with the accounts being checked internally by the trustees. The trustees reported no reportable serious incidents during the period. The document does not disclose specific financial figures for reserves, income, or expenditure.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Property (HM Land Registry)

2 registered titles in England and Wales held by the charity’s company or corporate body (2 freehold). All charity-held property. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright, OGL v3.0.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook · instagram

Register events

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Kent

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£374k£363k
31/03/2024£328k£343k
31/03/2023£320k£322k
31/03/2022£277k£296k
31/03/2021£263k£255k

Common questions

Is BARTON CHURCH CANTERBURY financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that an independent audit was not required for the year ended 31 March 2025, with the accounts being checked internally by the trustees. The trustees reported no reportable serious incidents during the period. The document does not disclose specific financial figures for reserves, income, or expenditure.

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

FunderSimilar charities fundedAmount to them
THE TUDWICK FOUNDATION1£1k

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with ZION BAPTIST CHURCH, MELBOURN.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
BARTON CHURCH CANTERBURY£374k—0unclear—no doubt
ZION BAPTIST CHURCH, MELBOURN FY2024£127k—0unclear—no doubt
BETHEL PENTECOSTAL CHURCH PORTSMOUTH FY2024£114k—0unclear—no doubt
NEW LIFE CHURCH, NEW MILTON FY2025£210k—0unclear—no doubt
NEW LIFE BAPTIST CHURCH FY2025£127k—0unclear—no doubt
THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF ST MARY THE VIRGIN CHURCH WHEATLEY FY2025£116k—0unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.