GILBERT WHITE & THE OATES COLLECTIONS

Registered charity 1159058 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as GILBERT WHITE & THE OATES COLLECTIONS LIMITED

Museum and Field Study Centre operating as a charity organisation

Objects

TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC BY THE MAINTENANCE OF A MUSEUM AND LIBRARY.

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · Arts/culture/heritage/science · Environment/conservation/heritage · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£551k
Latest spending
£522k
Registered
2014
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity generated a net income of £28,787 for the year ended 31st March 2025, following a net expenditure of £143,668 in the previous year. Total incoming resources were £551,015, while total resources expended amounted to £522,228. The filing does not disclose specific unrestricted reserves figures or a reserves policy target.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Discloses 2 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Funders the charity credits

Named as funders/supporters on the charity’s own website (the charity’s claim, distinct from accounts-verified grants).

Property (HM Land Registry)

1 registered title in England and Wales held by the charity’s company or corporate body (1 freehold). All charity-held property. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright, OGL v3.0.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook · instagram

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/03/2025)

Total income
£551k
Total spending
£522k
Cost of raising funds
£41k
Reserves (reported)
£1.8m
Employees
18

Reported reserves equal ~41.9 months of spending — in the top quarter for charities its size (median 5.2 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, largest income source: Donations and legacies (53% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 7.4% of total income — above the median for charities its size (4.9%) (benchmarks).

Register events

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Hampshire

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£551k£522k
31/03/2024£546k£690k
31/03/2023£532k£693k
31/03/2022£517k£637k
31/03/2021£671k£586k

Common questions

Is GILBERT WHITE & THE OATES COLLECTIONS financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity generated a net income of £28,787 for the year ended 31st March 2025, following a net expenditure of £143,668 in the previous year. Total incoming resources were £551,015, while total resources expended amounted to £522,228. The filing does not disclose specific unrestricted reserves figures or a reserves policy target.

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
The National Lottery Heritage Fund02/10/2024£76k"Growing Stronger"
The National Lottery Heritage Fund11/05/2020£57k"COVID19:Gilbert White & The Oates Collections"
The National Lottery Heritage Fund20/03/2019£29k"Towards 2020: Preparing for the next stage of our journey"
The National Lottery Heritage Fund19/09/2014£1.8m"Towards Sustainability - Inspiring Journeys of Discovery in the Natural World"
The National Lottery Heritage Fund30/03/2011£48k"Celebrating the life and exploits of Captain Oates 1870 - 1912"
The National Lottery Heritage Fund12/03/2010£47k"Gilbert Who? Making Gilbert White Better Known"

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with GILBERT TRUST FOR THE ARTS.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
GILBERT WHITE & THE OATES COLLECTIONS£551k——unclear—no doubt
GILBERT TRUST FOR THE ARTS FY2025£1.1m—0above—no doubt
THE OITIJ-JO COLLECTIVE FY2024£154k—0unclear—no doubt
THE WHITAKER ORGANISATION FY2025£384k—0unclear—noted
THE GILBERT AND GEORGE CENTRE FY2025£129k—0above—no doubt
THE FRIENDS OF OXFORD BOTANIC GARDEN & ARBORETUM FY2025£242k—0above—not going concern

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.