EASTLEIGH BASICS BANK

Registered charity 1158825 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

The charity's objects are the relief of poverty and financial hardship for public benefit in Eastleigh and surrounding areas in particular but not exclusively by providing food to individuals and families in need. In furtherance of these objects, the charity operates a food bank in Eastleigh town centre, open to the public two days a week throughout the year.

Causes: The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£251k
Latest spending
£294k
Registered
2014
Accounts read
FY2024

Financial health, per its FY2024 accounts

The accounts state that the charity operated at a deficit of £43,311 for the year ended 31 December 2024, reducing unrestricted reserves to £97,004. The trustees note that this level of reserves is at the bottom of their stated policy range of three to nine months' expenditure and that running such deficits is unsustainable. However, the trustees confirm they have adequate resources to continue in operational existence for the foreseeable future.

Automated summary of the FY2024 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Reserves position: below the charity's own stated reserves policy (held: £97k; policy: between three and nine months expenditure)
“Reserve levels at the year end of £97,004 were at the bottom of this range.” — page 5
Per its FY2024 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 5 of 6 completeness components.

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Hampshire

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2024£251k£294k
31/12/2023£221k£262k
31/12/2022£197k£179k
31/12/2021£164k£123k
31/12/2020£188k£119k

Common questions

Is EASTLEIGH BASICS BANK financially healthy?

Per its FY2024 accounts: The accounts state that the charity operated at a deficit of £43,311 for the year ended 31 December 2024, reducing unrestricted reserves to £97,004. The trustees note that this level of reserves is at the bottom of their stated policy range of three to nine months' expenditure and that running such deficits is unsustainable. However, the trustees confirm they have adequate resources to continue in operational existence for the foreseeable future. Its FY2024 accounts were independently examined.

Who funds EASTLEIGH BASICS BANK?

Funders whose own accounts filings name EASTLEIGH BASICS BANK as a grant recipient include THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF CHANDLER'S FORD, UTILITA GIVING.

Known funders

Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.

FunderYearAmountPurpose (as stated by the funder)
THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF CHANDLER'S FORDFY2025£5kGeneral mission giving
UTILITA GIVINGFY2025£2kFood poverty support
UTILITA GIVINGFY2024£2k
THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF CHANDLER'S FORDFY2021£838Special Collections
THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF CHANDLER'S FORDFY2025£671Special collections/events
THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF CHANDLER'S FORDFY2022£607Special Collections
THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF CHANDLER'S FORDFY2021£500Secular charities / Local charities
THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF CHANDLER'S FORDFY2022£500Mission Giving
THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF CHANDLER'S FORDFY2023£0Special collection (amount not specified)
THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF CHANDLER'S FORDFY2023£0Mission support (amount not specified individually, part of 10% giving policy)

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with EARLSFIELD FOODBANK.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
EASTLEIGH BASICS BANK£251k—0below—no doubt
EARLSFIELD FOODBANK FY2025£167k—0above—no doubt
GLOSSOPDALE FOODBANK FY2025£153k—0unclear—no doubt
LEIGH CARING KITCHEN FY2025£666k—0below—no doubt
EASTLEIGH YOUTH & COMMUNITY TRUST FY2025£505k—0below—no doubt
GRANTHAM FOODBANK FY2024£279k—0unclear—noted

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.