HACKNEY PEOPLE FIRST

Registered charity 1156543 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as HPF

HPF is a User-Led self advocacy organisation run by and for adults with a learning disability living in the London borough of hackney. It exists to raise awareness of the rights and needs of those with a learning disability to get their full rights as equal citizens. It runs speaking up groups and supports adults with learning disabilities to feed into local planning and service provision.

Objects

TO PROMOTE THE RELIEF OF ALL PEOPLE WITH A LEARNING DISABILITY LIVING OR WORKING IN THE LONDON BOROUGH OF HACKNEY BY:-1)ASSISTING A PERSON WITH A LEARNING DIFFICULTY TO OBTAIN HIS OR HER FULL RIGHTS AND PRIVILEGES AS A CITIZEN 2)PROVIDING LONG-TERM PERSONAL FRIENDSHIP AND SUPPORT 3)PROVIDING SUPPORT THROUGH ADVOCACY ON A ONE TO ONE BASIS TO PERSON WITH A LEARNING DIFFICULTY OR THROUGH A GROUP FORUM;4)ADVANCING THE EDUCATION AND TRAINING OF PROFESSIONALS. CARES AND THE PUBLIC ABOUT THE NEEDS OF PEOPLE WITH A LEARNING DISABILITIES SO PEOPLE WITH LEARNING DISABILITIES MAY ACHIEVE FULL PARTICIPATION IN THE COMMUNITY; AND5)ADVANCING THE EDUCATION OF PEOPLE WITH LEARNING DISABILITIES IN SELF-ADVOCACY.

Area of benefit: LONDON BOROUGH OF HACKNEY

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Disability · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£74k
Latest spending
£69k
Registered
2014
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that total incoming resources were £72,800, while total resources expended were £77,258, resulting in a net expenditure for the year. The document does not disclose any figures for free or unrestricted reserves, nor does it state a reserves policy target.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Largest income source: National Lottery Community Fund-RC London and South East Region (52% of income)
“National Lottery Community Fund-RC London and South East Region”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Public fundraising profile: JustGiving — Hackney People First (matched by registered charity number).

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Hackney

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£74k£69k
31/03/2024£64k£77k
31/03/2023£73k£54k
31/03/2022£23k£37k
31/03/2021£70k£44k

Common questions

Is HACKNEY PEOPLE FIRST financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that total incoming resources were £72,800, while total resources expended were £77,258, resulting in a net expenditure for the year. The document does not disclose any figures for free or unrestricted reserves, nor does it state a reserves policy target.

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
London Borough of Hackney15/10/2025£15kGrant to Hackney People First
Hackney Council15/10/2025£15kGrant to Hackney People First
The National Lottery Community Fund04/09/2025£20kBetter Together
UK government07/10/2020£8kVSCE CMC Fund
UK government29/09/2020£30kCoronavirus Community Support Fund
The National Lottery Community Fund28/09/2018£10kBetter Together