READ ACADEMY EDUCATION

Registered charity 1156203 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

Primary Education

Objects

THE CHARITY'S OBJECTS ("OBJECTS") ARE SPECIFICALLY RESTRICTED TO THE FOLLOWING:THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION BY THE ESTABLISHMENT AND MANAGEMENT OF A PRIVATE INDEPENDENT FAITH SCHOOL FOR CHILDREN AGED 4-11 IN ILFORD ESSEX.

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£1.2m
Latest spending
£1.1m
Registered
2014
Accounts read
FY2024

Financial health, per its FY2024 accounts

The accounts state that reserves held are £307,954, which are maintained to enable the school to function. The document does not disclose a specific reserves policy target or any material uncertainties regarding the charity's ability to continue as a going concern.

Automated summary of the FY2024 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Largest income source: none
“The charity’s principal sources of funds (including any fundraising)”
Per its FY2024 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Inspection and regulatory ratings

Matched to this charity by name; verify provider identity on the regulator’s site.

In its annual return the charity told the Commission it is also regulated by: Ofsted (Office For Standards In Education). This is the charity’s own declaration; it is not a rating and has not been verified by the Commission or by this site.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): instagram

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/12/2024)

Total income
£1.2m
Total spending
£1.1m
Reserves (reported)
£308k
Employees
34

Reported reserves equal ~3.2 months of spending — below the median for charities its size (median 4.8 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, largest income source: Charitable activities (100% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 0.0% of total income — below the median for charities its size (5.2%) (benchmarks).

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Essex · Redbridge

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2024£1.2m£1.1m
31/12/2023£1.1m£1.1m
31/12/2022£997k£921k
31/12/2021£907k£755k
31/12/2020£666k£540k

Common questions

Is READ ACADEMY EDUCATION financially healthy?

Per its FY2024 accounts: The accounts state that reserves held are £307,954, which are maintained to enable the school to function. The document does not disclose a specific reserves policy target or any material uncertainties regarding the charity's ability to continue as a going concern.

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with MECHANICS FOR AFRICA.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
READ ACADEMY EDUCATION£1.2m—0unclear—no doubt
MECHANICS FOR AFRICA FY2025£171k—0unclear—no doubt
KEW COLLEGE FY2025£4.4m——below—no doubt
ST JOSEPH'S CONVENT SCHOOL FY2024£302k—0unclear—no doubt
BALLARD SCHOOL LIMITED FY2025£7.4m——above—no doubt
CHARNOCK RICHARD PRE-SCHOOL FY2025£165k—0below—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.