SOUTH HANWELL BAPTIST CHURCH

Registered charity 1154977 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as SHBC

SHBC continues to provide a place of public worship for the service of Almighty God. Throughout the year SHBC has sought to discern the needs of the community. The children's & youth clubs are for new born to young adults.There are men's & ladies events, all these are open to the whole community. With other churches we opened our doors to the homeless & provided food, bed & warmth after December.

Causes: Religious Activities · Grant history (this charity is a funder) · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£176k
Latest spending
£123k
Registered
2013
Accounts read
FY2024

Financial health, per its FY2024 accounts

The accounts state that the financial statements were independently examined and comply with statutory requirements and the Charities SORP 2014. The document does not disclose specific financial figures for reserves, income, or expenditure, nor does it mention any financial difficulties or going concern risks. Consequently, the financial health cannot be quantitatively assessed from the provided text.

Automated summary of the FY2024 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Payments to trustees: The document states the Minister is a 'paid Managing Trustee' and lists employees including the Minister. However, it does not explicitly state that the Minister (a trustee) received remuneration *as a trustee* or disclose specific trustee remuneration amounts separate from employment. It lists 'Minister' as a role and 'Rev. Stuart Shackleton' as the employee. Under rule 6b, trustee_payments is present=true ONLY where one or more trustees received REMUNERATION or payment for services. The text says 'The Minister of the Church is a paid Managing Trustee'. This is a payment for services to a trustee. However, it does not give an amount. The rule says 'present=true ONLY where...'. It does not require an amount to be present, just the fact. But wait, rule 6b says 'present=true ONLY where one or more trustees received REMUNERATION...'. The text says 'The Minister of the Church is a paid Managing Trustee'. This implies remuneration. So present=true. But I need to check if there is a specific quote about trustee remuneration. The text says 'The Minister of the Church is a paid Managing Trustee'. This is a statement of fact about the trustee's payment. So present=true.
“The Minister of the Church is a paid Managing Trustee and with the Elders and Deacons gives leadership to the Church.” — page 3
Per its FY2024 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: The church is a member of The Evangelical Alliance, with the Membership Number: 241606.
“Relationships between the Church (Charity) and Related Parties The church is a member of The Evangelical Alliance, with the Membership Number: 241606.” — page 3
“The church works closely with the charities K180 and Hamsayeh International.” — page 3
Per its FY2024 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: The church works closely with the charities K180 and Hamsayeh International.
“Relationships between the Church (Charity) and Related Parties The church is a member of The Evangelical Alliance, with the Membership Number: 241606.” — page 3
“The church works closely with the charities K180 and Hamsayeh International.” — page 3
Per its FY2024 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: The church pays an annual subscription to both LBA and BUGB based on its membership numbers and also makes donations to both the BUGB Home Mission Fund for Baptist mission work in the UK and to the Baptist World Mission Fund (BMS) for overseas work.
“Relationships between the Church (Charity) and Related Parties The church is a member of The Evangelical Alliance, with the Membership Number: 241606.” — page 3
“The church works closely with the charities K180 and Hamsayeh International.” — page 3
Per its FY2024 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Ealing

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2024£176k£123k
31/12/2023£134k£150k
31/12/2022£120k£118k
31/12/2021£113k£115k
31/12/2020£124k£118k

Common questions

Is SOUTH HANWELL BAPTIST CHURCH financially healthy?

Per its FY2024 accounts: The accounts state that the financial statements were independently examined and comply with statutory requirements and the Charities SORP 2014. The document does not disclose specific financial figures for reserves, income, or expenditure, nor does it mention any financial difficulties or going concern risks. Consequently, the financial health cannot be quantitatively assessed from the provided text. Its FY2024 accounts were independently examined.

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

FunderSimilar charities fundedAmount to them
GOLD HILL CHURCH TRUST1£1.5m
ROSCA TRUST1£6k

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with SLOUGH BAPTIST CHURCH.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
SOUTH HANWELL BAPTIST CHURCH£176k—0unclear—no doubt
SLOUGH BAPTIST CHURCH FY2025£288k—0unclear—no doubt
Restore Church Plymouth FY2024£150k——unclear—no doubt
ST. MARK'S METHODIST CHURCH FY2025£178k—0unclear—no doubt
GOLD HILL BAPTIST CHURCH FY2025£939k—0within—no doubt
SOUTHEND CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP FY2024£424k—0unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.