BURGESS HILL COMMUNITY FOOD BANK

Registered charity 1154105 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

BHCFB collects non-perishable food from donors local to Burgess Hill via both regular and one-off collections, sorts it into categories and by date and distributes it, from premises in Burgess Hill, Hassocks and Hurstpierpoint in units of enough food for 2 people for 3 days, to people in poverty. Vouchers from accredited voluntary and statutory agencies are exchanged for appropriate units of food.

Causes: The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£47k
Latest spending
£58k
Registered
2013
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity is operated entirely by volunteers with no paid employees. Per the trustees' report, expenditure on food and toiletries was £42,414 in 2025, with approximately 60% purchased and 40% provided in kind. The document does not disclose any unrestricted reserves or a reserves policy.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Accounts audited. Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: East Sussex · West Sussex

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2025£47k£58k
31/12/2024£50k£55k
31/12/2023£43k£54k
31/12/2022£35k£31k
31/12/2021£27k£12k

Common questions

Is BURGESS HILL COMMUNITY FOOD BANK financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity is operated entirely by volunteers with no paid employees. Per the trustees' report, expenditure on food and toiletries was £42,414 in 2025, with approximately 60% purchased and 40% provided in kind. The document does not disclose any unrestricted reserves or a reserves policy. Its FY2025 accounts were audited.