WETHERBY & DISTRICT U3A

Registered charity 1143289 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION AND, IN PARTICULAR, THE EDUCATION OF OLDER PEOPLE AND THOSE WHO ARE RETIRED FROM FULL TIME WORK BY ALL MEANS, INCLUDING ASSOCIATED ACTIVITIES CONDUCIVE TO LEARNING AND PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT IN THE AREA OF BENEFIT.

Objects

THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION AND, IN PARTICULAR, THE EDUCATION OF OLDER PEOPLE AND THOSE WHO ARE RETIRED FROM FULL TIME WORK, BY ALL MEANS INCLUDING ASSOCIATED ACTIVITIES CONDUCIVE TO LEARNING AND PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT.

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives · Arts/culture/heritage/science · Recreation · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£48k
Latest spending
£47k
Registered
2011
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity reported a surplus of £1,145 for the period, with total income of £48,401 and total expenditure of £47,257. The trustees maintain a reserves policy of 12 months' running costs, with actual free reserves held at £30,157. The document does not disclose any material uncertainties regarding the charity's ability to continue as a going concern.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Reserves policy: 12 months running costs (held: £30k)
“Our Policy is to maintain a level of reserves at 12 months running costs of our organisation.”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Leeds City · North Yorkshire

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£48k£47k
31/03/2024£44k£46k
31/03/2023£34k£33k
31/03/2022£22k£23k
31/03/2021£15k£13k

Common questions

Is WETHERBY & DISTRICT U3A financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity reported a surplus of £1,145 for the period, with total income of £48,401 and total expenditure of £47,257. The trustees maintain a reserves policy of 12 months' running costs, with actual free reserves held at £30,157. The document does not disclose any material uncertainties regarding the charity's ability to continue as a going concern.