NORTH WILTSHIRE METHODIST CIRCUIT

Registered charity 1133989 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as THE METHODIST CHURCH CHIPPENHAM

Resourcing body for local churches and support of mission at home and abroad

Causes: Religious Activities · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£312k
Latest spending
£529k
Registered
2010
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that total funds increased by £85k to £3,029k, with unrestricted funds held in current accounts and the MTF equating to about 30 months of expenditure. The trustees believe there are sufficient funds to secure the mid to long term ability to meet liabilities, noting a reserves policy of approx. 4 months funding for general purposes and two years including the Model Trust Fund.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Employees paid over £60,000: 6
“During 2024/2025 6 people were employed all the time. The circuit is required to provide accommodation for each minister and their families and this is seen as a benefit to the Circuit. Ministers are expected to occupy the manse provided for them. The circuit bears the cost of repairs, maintenance, building insurance, council tax and water rates. These figures are not separately disclosed as benefits-in-kind for ministers as HMRC does not seek to tax these receipts in the hands of ministers.”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Largest income source: none
“The circuit income is primarily drawn from the assessments paid by the circuit churches and with the rental income from one of the circuit manses.” — page 2
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Reserves policy: approx. 4 months funding for general purposes and lay worker activities in cash or near cash; two years of average expenditure including the Model Trust Fund (held: £3.0m)
“The circuit holds the equivalent approx. 4 months funding for general purposes and lay worker activities in cash or near cash assuming no other major expenditure in the event of an inability to raise the full circuit assessment for the churches in the short term. Including the Model Trust Fund, the circuit holds two years of average expenditure and therefore the circuit trustees believe there are sufficient funds to secure the mid to long term ability to meet the liabilities of the circuit .” — page 5
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Payments to trustees: No trustees receive any salaries or benefits as trustees. However, the following trustees are also ministers and in that capacity receive stipends as minsters and the benefit of job related accommodation. During 2024/2025 there were five ministers employed by the circuit who all are trustees : Rev David Gray, Rev Stephen Skinner, Rev Rachel Collins, Deacon Stephen Roe, Rev Andrew Bird. Stipends 158,202. Other trustee payments Circuit cost of manses occupied by ministers: 49,035
“No trustees receive any salaries or benefits as trustees. However, the following trustees are also ministers and in that capacity receive stipends as minsters and the benefit of job related accommodation. During 2024/2025 there were five ministers employed by the circuit who all are trustees : 2025 2024 Rev David Gray Rev David Gray Rev Stephen Skinner Rev Stephen Skinner Rev Rachel Collins Rev Rachel Collins Deacon Stephen Roe Deacon Stephen Roe Rev Andrew Bird Rev Andrew Bird 2025 2024 Stipends 158,202 149,074 Nat Insurance 17,398 14,296 Pension 31,020 39,059 Travel/phone /other 16,778 13,728 Total 223,398 216,157 Other trustee payments 2025 2024 Circuit cost of manses occupied by ministers: 49,035 41,317 Number of manses 5 5”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: The circuit is part of the Bristol District and is also accountable to the Methodist conference
“The circuit is part of the Bristol District and is also accountable to the Methodist conference” — page 4
“The circuit consists of the following churches: Aldbourne & Ramsbury with Chiseldon (class) Bath Road Central Chippenham Central Swindon (Pilgrim Centre) LEP of Baptist, URC and Methodist Christchurch Methodist Fellowship Dorcan LEP of Anglican and Methodist Great Somerford (class of Central Chippenham) Lyneham Pewsey Sheldon Road Stratton St. Andrews and Rodbourne (class) Studley”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: The circuit consists of the following churches: Aldbourne & Ramsbury with Chiseldon (class), Bath Road, Central Chippenham, Central Swindon (Pilgrim Centre) LEP of Baptist, URC and Methodist, Christchurch Methodist Fellowship, Dorcan LEP of Anglican and Methodist, Great Somerford (class of Central Chippenham), Lyneham, Pewsey, Sheldon Road, Stratton, St. Andrews and Rodbourne (class), Studley
“The circuit is part of the Bristol District and is also accountable to the Methodist conference” — page 4
“The circuit consists of the following churches: Aldbourne & Ramsbury with Chiseldon (class) Bath Road Central Chippenham Central Swindon (Pilgrim Centre) LEP of Baptist, URC and Methodist Christchurch Methodist Fellowship Dorcan LEP of Anglican and Methodist Great Somerford (class of Central Chippenham) Lyneham Pewsey Sheldon Road Stratton St. Andrews and Rodbourne (class) Studley”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: The circuit is required to provide accommodation for each minister and their families and this is seen as a benefit to the Circuit. Ministers are expected to occupy the manse provided for them. The circuit bears the cost of repairs, maintenance, building insurance, council tax and water rates. These figures are not separately disclosed as benefits-in-kind for ministers as HMRC does not seek to tax these receipts in the hands of ministers.
“The circuit is part of the Bristol District and is also accountable to the Methodist conference” — page 4
“The circuit consists of the following churches: Aldbourne & Ramsbury with Chiseldon (class) Bath Road Central Chippenham Central Swindon (Pilgrim Centre) LEP of Baptist, URC and Methodist Christchurch Methodist Fellowship Dorcan LEP of Anglican and Methodist Great Somerford (class of Central Chippenham) Lyneham Pewsey Sheldon Road Stratton St. Andrews and Rodbourne (class) Studley”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: During 2024/2025 there were five ministers employed by the circuit who all are trustees : Rev David Gray, Rev Stephen Skinner, Rev Rachel Collins, Deacon Stephen Roe, Rev Andrew Bird
“The circuit is part of the Bristol District and is also accountable to the Methodist conference” — page 4
“The circuit consists of the following churches: Aldbourne & Ramsbury with Chiseldon (class) Bath Road Central Chippenham Central Swindon (Pilgrim Centre) LEP of Baptist, URC and Methodist Christchurch Methodist Fellowship Dorcan LEP of Anglican and Methodist Great Somerford (class of Central Chippenham) Lyneham Pewsey Sheldon Road Stratton St. Andrews and Rodbourne (class) Studley”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: Other trustee payments Circuit cost of manses occupied by ministers: 49,035
“The circuit is part of the Bristol District and is also accountable to the Methodist conference” — page 4
“The circuit consists of the following churches: Aldbourne & Ramsbury with Chiseldon (class) Bath Road Central Chippenham Central Swindon (Pilgrim Centre) LEP of Baptist, URC and Methodist Christchurch Methodist Fellowship Dorcan LEP of Anglican and Methodist Great Somerford (class of Central Chippenham) Lyneham Pewsey Sheldon Road Stratton St. Andrews and Rodbourne (class) Studley”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 5 of 6 completeness components.

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Wiltshire

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/08/2025£312k£529k
31/08/2024£419k£359k
31/08/2023£365k£788k
31/08/2022£370k£504k
31/08/2021£326k£427k

Common questions

Is NORTH WILTSHIRE METHODIST CIRCUIT financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that total funds increased by £85k to £3,029k, with unrestricted funds held in current accounts and the MTF equating to about 30 months of expenditure. The trustees believe there are sufficient funds to secure the mid to long term ability to meet liabilities, noting a reserves policy of approx. 4 months funding for general purposes and two years including the Model Trust Fund. Its FY2025 accounts were independently examined.