THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF STOKE D'ABERNON

Registered charity 1128323 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as ST MARY THE VIRGIN

Regular public worship open to all. The provision of sacred space for personal prayer and contemplation. Pastoral work, including visiting the sick and the bereaved. Teaching of Christianity through sermons, courses and small groups. Supporting other charities in the UK and overseas.

Causes: Religious Activities · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£226k
Latest spending
£262k
Registered
2009
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity reported a net outgoing resource of £36,121 for the year, driven by higher-than-expected spending including £17,000 in unbudgeted legal costs. While unrestricted reserves fell from £134,441 to £98,320, the charity maintains a cash balance of £97,467 and has reviewed its reserves policy to a minimum of 30% of annual operating expenditure.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Largest income source: Parish Share (40% of income)
“Parish Share : 90,448” — page 22
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Payments to trustees: Claire Saxton is listed as Treasurer and the report notes 'Although this is a paid role...'. However, the financial statements do not list a specific salary figure for the Treasurer, only for the Administrator and Organist. The Treasurer is a PCC member (Trustee). The accounts do not explicitly state the amount paid to the trustee for this role, nor do they list it under staff costs. The prompt rules state 'present=true ONLY where one or more trustees received REMUNERATION...'. The text says it is a paid role, but no amount is in the financial statements. Rule 1 says 'NEVER guess or infer beyond the text'. The financial statements do not show a trustee payment. The narrative says it is paid. This is a conflict. However, the financial statements are the primary source for 'amount'. If the amount is not in the financial statements, can we say present=true? The rule says 'present=true ONLY where...'. The narrative confirms payment. But the financials don't show it. Let's look at the 'Staff Numbers and Costs' note. It lists Administrator and Organist. It does not list Treasurer. The Treasurer is a volunteer trustee who is paid for a specific role? Or is the Treasurer a staff member? The membership list says 'Claire Saxton (Treasurer)'. The Rector's report says 'Although this is a paid role'. This implies remuneration. But is it disclosed in the financials? No. Rule 2 says 'Every claim object has a quote field: copy a supporting passage EXACTLY'. I can quote the Rector's report. But is it a 'trustee payment'? Yes. Is it disclosed? Yes, in the narrative. The prompt asks for 'disclosed related-party transactions' and 'trustee_payments'. The Rector's report is part of the document. So present=true. But what is the amount? It is not stated. Rule 1: 'A field the document does not state is value=null'. So amount=null. But the flag is present=true. Let's check if there are other trustee payments. No. So present=true, amount=null? Or is the lack of amount in financials a reason to say present=false? The rule says 'present=true ONLY where...'. It is disclosed. So present=true. But the amount is unknown. I will set present=true and amount=null.
“Thank you to Claire Saxton, our Treasurer. Although this is a paid role, the responsibility it carries is significant.” — page 3
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook · instagram

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Surrey

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2025£226k£262k
31/12/2024£180k£197k
31/12/2023£201k£197k
31/12/2022£159k£167k
31/12/2021£154k£143k

Common questions

Is THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF STOKE D'ABERNON financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity reported a net outgoing resource of £36,121 for the year, driven by higher-than-expected spending including £17,000 in unbudgeted legal costs. While unrestricted reserves fell from £134,441 to £98,320, the charity maintains a cash balance of £97,467 and has reviewed its reserves policy to a minimum of 30% of annual operating expenditure. Its FY2025 accounts were independently examined.

Who funds THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF STOKE D'ABERNON?

Funders whose own accounts filings name THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF STOKE D'ABERNON as a grant recipient include THE BEDFORDSHIRE AND HERTFORDSHIRE HISTORIC CHURCHES TRUST, THE CLOCKMAKERS' CHARITY, THE FRIENDS OF KENT CHURCHES.

Known funders

Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.

FunderYearAmountPurpose (as stated by the funder)
THE BEDFORDSHIRE AND HERTFORDSHIRE HISTORIC CHURCHES TRUSTFY2025£5kRepair of church
THE CLOCKMAKERS' CHARITYFY2024£5kHorological project grant
THE FRIENDS OF KENT CHURCHESFY2023£5kStone
THE FRIENDS OF KENT CHURCHESFY2023£500Welling

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
The National Lottery Heritage Fund23/06/2004£18k"Restoration of the bells at St Mary the Virgin - Nettlestead"