CLAPTON COMMON BOYS CLUB

Registered charity 1121347 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

TO ADVANCE AND RELIEVE THE NEEDS OF CHILDREN, YOUNG PEOPLE AND PARENTS THROUGH THE PROVISION OF EDUCATIONAL, RECREATIONAL AND LEISURE PROGRAMMES PROVIDED IN THE INTEREST OF SOCIAL AND ACADEMIC NEEDS AND WELFARE , DESIGNED TO IMPROVE THEIR CIRCUMSTANCES OF LIFE

Causes: Arts/culture/heritage/science · Amateur Sport · Get email alerts

Latest income
£621k
Latest spending
£536k
Registered
2007
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity reported a net income of £84,426 for the year ended 31 March 2025, with total funds increasing to £464,403. The trustees consider the charity to be in a healthy financial position and are working towards building free reserves of at least three months' operating costs. The document does not disclose any material uncertainties or significant financial risks to the charity's ongoing operations.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Reserves policy: three months of operating costs (held: £184k)
“The Trustees are working towards building free reserves of at least 3 months' operating costs in order to protect services where there are uncertainties as to whether funding will continue and to ensure adequate cash flow for the organisation's needs.” — page 23
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/03/2025)

Total income
£621k
Total spending
£536k
Reserves (reported)
£464k
Employees
10

Reported reserves equal ~10.4 months of spending — above the median for charities its size (median 5.2 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, largest income source: Donations and legacies (100% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 0.0% of total income — below the median for charities its size (4.9%) (benchmarks).

Register events

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Hackney · Haringey

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£621k£536k
31/03/2024£397k£505k
31/03/2023£637k£582k
31/12/2021£651k£567k
31/12/2020£469k£416k

Common questions

Is CLAPTON COMMON BOYS CLUB financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity reported a net income of £84,426 for the year ended 31 March 2025, with total funds increasing to £464,403. The trustees consider the charity to be in a healthy financial position and are working towards building free reserves of at least three months' operating costs. The document does not disclose any material uncertainties or significant financial risks to the charity's ongoing operations. Its FY2025 accounts were independently examined.

Who funds CLAPTON COMMON BOYS CLUB?

Funders whose own accounts filings name CLAPTON COMMON BOYS CLUB as a grant recipient include DOVER SHOLEM COMMUNITY TRUST, THE JOHN R. MURRAY CHARITABLE TRUST, HACKNEY PAROCHIAL CHARITIES, THE JOHN SCOTT CHARITABLE TRUST, THE JOSEPH AND LILIAN SULLY FOUNDATION.

Known funders

Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.

FunderYearAmountPurpose (as stated by the funder)
DOVER SHOLEM COMMUNITY TRUSTFY2025£290k
THE JOHN R. MURRAY CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2021£50kAdvancement of the arts, culture, heritage and science
HACKNEY PAROCHIAL CHARITIESFY2022£30k
HACKNEY PAROCHIAL CHARITIESFY2025£11k
THE JOHN SCOTT CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2022£10k
THE JOSEPH AND LILIAN SULLY FOUNDATIONFY2022£10k
VINCI UK FOUNDATIONFY2024£10k
THE WORSHIPFUL COMPANY OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGISTS CHARITYFY2021£9k
THE ALBERT GUBAY CHARITABLE FOUNDATIONFY2023£8k
HACKNEY PAROCHIAL CHARITIESFY2023£6k
THE TOTTENHAM GRAMMAR SCHOOL FOUNDATIONFY2024£5ktowards the cost of 'Beat the Dance' a 48-week project designed to creatively advance the artistic skills of 72 young teens aged 12-16 involving them in arts re
GERALD FINZI TRUSTFY2023£5kGeneral Grants
GERALD FINZI TRUSTFY2022£5kGeneral Grants
THE JOHN R. MURRAY CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2023£5kAdvancement of the arts, culture, heritage and science
THE TOTTENHAM GRAMMAR SCHOOL FOUNDATIONFY2023£5ktowards the cost of 'ARTspirations' - a 48 week programme of creative therapy
HACKNEY PAROCHIAL CHARITIESFY2024£4k
SANDRA CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2024£4kGrant paid or payable
THE TRUEMARK TRUSTFY2024£4k
THE SCOTT BADER COMMONWEALTH LIMITEDFY2021£4kEmpowering 45 boys aged 13-16 years to engage in an IT and basic functional skills support programme in London
THE TRUEMARK TRUSTFY2022£4k
THE JOHN R. MURRAY CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2024£3kAdvancement of the arts, culture, heritage and science
THE NINEVEH CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2022£3k
THE JOHN R. MURRAY CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2022£3kAdvancement of the arts, culture, heritage and science
THE SANGHERA FOUNDATIONFY2023£3k
The Dentons UK and Middle East LLP Charitable TrustFY2025£2k
THE HISCOX FOUNDATIONFY2022£2k
SANDRA CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2023£2k
The Merchant Taylors' FoundationFY2022£2kSmall Grants Scheme
THE CHILDREN'S AID COMMITTEE CHARITABLE FUNDFY2021£2k
SHORESH CHARITABLE TRUST (DR RUTH BORCHARD GIFT)FY2022£1kcontribution towards funding for a project co-ordinator, resource materials, publicity and administration for their 'Learn4Life' project fun and fitness Sunday
THE BUZZACOTT STUART DEFRIES MEMORIAL FUNDFY2022£1k
SOUTH HACKNEY PAROCHIAL CHARITYFY2022£1k
ROCKCLIFFE CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2023£1k
GOWLING WLG (UK) CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2025£1k
ROCKCLIFFE CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2022£1k
GOWLING WLG (UK) CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2022£1k
The Dentons UK and Middle East LLP Charitable TrustFY2022£1k
GOWLING WLG (UK) CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2023£500
GOWLING WLG (UK) CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2024£500
Moto FoundationFY2021£250Community Grant
INNER LONDON MAGISTRATES COURT POOR BOXFY2022£0
INNER LONDON MAGISTRATES COURT POOR BOXFY2024£0
THE SANGHERA FOUNDATIONFY2024£0

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
Sport England21/10/2025£9kFast Track
The National Lottery Community Fund19/01/2024£20kYouth Transition Services (YTS) programme
The National Lottery Community Fund04/08/2023£10kMH - OnTrack
City Bridge Foundation27/07/2023£202kGrant to Clapton Common Boys Club
Sport England20/02/2023£14kBounce BackSpace
The National Lottery Community Fund24/09/2021£10kBIG Conversation initiative
UK government17/05/2021£40kHolocaust Awareness Raising
UK government29/07/2020£62kCoronavirus Community Support Fund
UK government01/04/2020£15kPOST HOLOCAUST ENVOY
Sport England25/04/2019£9kActiv8 - Keep fit and healthy programme
UK government01/04/2019£29kYouth Investment Fund
The National Lottery Community Fund14/12/2018£10kMentor for Life (MfL) programme
UK government01/06/2017£21kYouth Investment Fund
UK government01/06/2017£29kYouth Investment Fund
The National Lottery Heritage Fund14/01/2016£50k"Connect to Reflect: Heritage, History and the Holocaust"
The National Lottery Community Fund11/11/2015£10kLearn4Life - Homework and Reading Oral Booster Support Group
The National Lottery Community Fund11/06/2014£10kThe Breakfast Cycle
The National Lottery Community Fund14/04/2014£169kFamily Time Together
The National Lottery Community Fund15/12/2011£9kDiscovering Language
The National Lottery Community Fund27/08/2009£10kActiv-8
Sport England25/06/2009£10kCycle in the City
UK government—£29kYouth Investment Fund

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with BOYS AND GIRLS CLUBS OF SOUTH YORKSHIRE.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
CLAPTON COMMON BOYS CLUB£621k—0unclear—no doubt
BOYS AND GIRLS CLUBS OF SOUTH YORKSHIRE FY2025£111kunder £50,0000below—noted
COMMUNITY LEISURE SERVICES PARTNERSHIP FY2025£2.2m—0below—no doubt
SONSHINE CLUB FY2025£137k—0unclear—no doubt
NORTH LONDON CENTRAL MOSQUE TRUST FY2025£207k—0unclear—no doubt
SUCCESS CLUB CIO FY2025£345k—0above—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.