FRIENDS OF BURUNDI

Registered charity 1117715 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

Provision of Information regarding Burundi and the church in Burundi, destined mainly for supporters in the UKMeetings relating to Burundi, the country, the population and the church and individuals working there. These meetings are mainly held in the UK.Donations towards relief, development and education in Burundi and support and development of the Christian church in Burundi.

Causes: General Charitable Purposes · Education/training · The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives · Disability · The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty · Overseas Aid/famine Relief · Grant history (this charity is a funder) · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£172k
Latest spending
£53k
Registered
2007
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that funding increased considerably from £7,044 in 2023/24 to £171,603 in 2024/25, primarily due to a generous legacy and memorial gifts. The charity awarded £7,935 in Good Cause Grants and £45,000 in Mission grants, with only £47 spent on administration costs. The filing does not disclose total unrestricted reserves or a reserves policy.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Largest income source: Legacy and memorial gifts
“Due primarily to a generous legacy and memorial gifts, funding available for supporting our partners in Burundi increased considerably from £7,044 in 2023/24 to £171,603 in 2024/25.”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: Shared cost with Kepplewray UK for Starlink internet access for trustee Bishop Jean Mweningoma.
“Communication between trustees has been improved with the funding of Starlink internet access for FoB trustee, Bishop Jean Mweningoma. The cost of Starlink is being shared with Kepplewray UK which support the work of the Bethesda Project in Muyinga diocese.” — page 1
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Burundi · Congo (Democratic Republic) · Ireland · Northern Ireland · Rwanda · Scotland · Tanzania · Throughout England And Wales

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
30/09/2025£172k£53k
30/09/2024£7k£22k
30/09/2023£27k£6k
30/09/2022£11k£17k
30/09/2021£10k£22k

Common questions

Is FRIENDS OF BURUNDI financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that funding increased considerably from £7,044 in 2023/24 to £171,603 in 2024/25, primarily due to a generous legacy and memorial gifts. The charity awarded £7,935 in Good Cause Grants and £45,000 in Mission grants, with only £47 spent on administration costs. The filing does not disclose total unrestricted reserves or a reserves policy.

Who funds FRIENDS OF BURUNDI?

Funders whose own accounts filings name FRIENDS OF BURUNDI as a grant recipient include THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF ST MARK, HOLBROOK.

Known funders

Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.

FunderYearAmountPurpose (as stated by the funder)
THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL OF THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH OF ST MARK, HOLBROOKFY2022£200Missionary & charitable giving

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with REMA UK.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
FRIENDS OF BURUNDI£172k—0unclear—no doubt
REMA UK FY2024£130k—0unclear—no doubt
FRIENDS OF MURAMBINDA HOSPITAL FY2025£152k—0unclear0.0%noted
THE FRIENDS OF NORTH KIGEZI DIOCESE FY2025£109k—0below—no doubt
AFRICA MISSIONS ENGLD FY2024£123k—0unclear—no doubt
REGIONS BEYOND UK FY2024£353k—0unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.