HANDS @ WORK IN AFRICA UK

Registered charity 1117446 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as HANDS AT WORK IN AFRICA UK LIMITED

The charitable purposes are, for the benefit of people in Africa, by such charitable means as the trustees in their absolute discretion think fit: To relieve poverty To relieve suffering To promote good health and increase life expectancy To advance education and training To promote any other charitable purpose

Causes: Education/training · The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives · The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty · Overseas Aid/famine Relief · Religious Activities · Economic/community Development/employment · Grant history (this charity is a funder) · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£341k
Latest spending
£330k
Registered
2007
Accounts read
FY2024

Financial health, per its FY2024 accounts

The accounts state that the charity reported a net income of £10,622 for the year ended 31 December 2024, resulting in total unrestricted and restricted funds of £55,246. The trustees maintain a reserves policy to ensure financial sustainability, though the specific target amount is not disclosed in the provided text. The independent examiner confirmed that no matters came to their attention giving cause to believe the accounts were not properly prepared.

Automated summary of the FY2024 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

Public fundraising profile: JustGiving — Hands at Work in Africa UK (matched by registered charity number).

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Congo (Democratic Republic) · Dudley · Eswatini · Malawi · Mozambique · Nigeria · South Africa · Suffolk · Zambia · Zimbabwe

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2024£341k£330k
31/12/2023£344k£379k
31/12/2022£315k£336k
31/12/2021£355k£363k
31/12/2020£353k£325k

Common questions

Is HANDS @ WORK IN AFRICA UK financially healthy?

Per its FY2024 accounts: The accounts state that the charity reported a net income of £10,622 for the year ended 31 December 2024, resulting in total unrestricted and restricted funds of £55,246. The trustees maintain a reserves policy to ensure financial sustainability, though the specific target amount is not disclosed in the provided text. The independent examiner confirmed that no matters came to their attention giving cause to believe the accounts were not properly prepared. Its FY2024 accounts were independently examined.

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with THE HANDS AROUND THE WORLD CHARITABLE TRUST.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
HANDS @ WORK IN AFRICA UK£341k—0unclear—no doubt
THE HANDS AROUND THE WORLD CHARITABLE TRUST FY2025£192k—0unclear—no doubt
HEALTH AND NUTRITION DEVELOPMENT SOCIETY (HANDS) INTERNATIONAL FY2025£176k—0unclear—no doubt
AFRICAN ADVENTURES FOUNDATION FY2025£331k—0within—no doubt
HANDS OF GIVING FOUNDATION FY2025£123k—0above—no doubt
MUSLIM HANDS FY2024£33.4m£70,000 - £79,9998unclear13.2%no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.