THE CHRISTIE ARCHIVE TRUST

Registered charity 1102677 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as THE CHRISTIE ARCHIVE SETTLEMENT

Archive of works, documentation and artefacts of Agatha Christie

Objects

(I) TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC BY PROTECTING AND PRESERVING FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC AND OF THE NATION, THE ARCHIVES OF AGATHA CHRISTIE AND THE LITERARY HERITAGE ASSOCIATED WITH THE SAME. (II) TO PROMOTE THE STUDY AND RESEARCH OF LITERARY HISTORY FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC WITH SPECIAL REFERENCE TO THE WORKS OF AGATHA CHRISTIE.

Area of benefit: NOT DEFINED

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · Arts/culture/heritage/science · Get email alerts

Latest income
£26k
Latest spending
£23k
Registered
2004
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that total net assets increased from £88,204 in 2024 to £91,167 in 2025. The document does not disclose unrestricted reserves policy targets or detailed financial health narratives beyond the balance sheet figures.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Payments to trustees: The document discloses a payment to a firm where a trustee is a consultant, but does not explicitly state that remuneration was paid to the trustee personally or that it constitutes a trustee payment under the specific definition of remuneration for services. However, it is a related party transaction. The prompt asks for trustee_payments present=true ONLY where one or more trustees received REMUNERATION or payment for services. The text says 'charity was paid costs... to Wollens'. It does not say Nigel Wollen received remuneration. It is a payment to a connected business. Rule 6b says 'present=true ONLY where one or more trustees received REMUNERATION or payment for services (or payments flowed to a trustee-connected business)'. This fits 'payments flowed to a trustee-connected business'.
“During the year the charity was paid costs totalling £3,942 (2024: £2,068) to Wollens, a firm of solicitors in which Nigel Wollen is a consultant.” — page 14
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: The charity paid costs to Wollens, a firm of solicitors in which Nigel Wollen is a consultant.
“During the year the charity was paid costs totalling £3,942 (2024: £2,068) to Wollens, a firm of solicitors in which Nigel Wollen is a consultant.” — page 14
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Discloses 2 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Throughout England And Wales

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/08/2025£26k£23k
31/08/2024£8k£22k
31/08/2023£49k£20k
31/08/2022£5k£17k
31/08/2021£24k£28k

Common questions

Is THE CHRISTIE ARCHIVE TRUST financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that total net assets increased from £88,204 in 2024 to £91,167 in 2025. The document does not disclose unrestricted reserves policy targets or detailed financial health narratives beyond the balance sheet figures.