THE WILLOW ROAD COMMUNITY CENTRE PROJECT

Registered charity 1094571 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

Vision: To be an integral, flexible, self financing and valued part of a participating and identifiable community.Mission Statement: The provision of a resource offering a wide range of community led activities responsive to the needs and wishes of all current and potential users.

Objects

A) TO PROMOTE THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS OF THE PARISH OF ST MATTHEW & ST LUKE, DARLINGTON (HEREINAFTER CALLED THE AREA OF BENEFIT) BY ASSOCIATING TOGETHER THE SAID INHABITANTS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND TO PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE BY EXTENDING TO THE LOCAL COMMUNITY A WIDE VARIETY OF ACTIVITIES AND SUPPORT, FOR RECREATION AND OTHER LEISURETIME OCCUPATIONS WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTSB) TO ESTABLISH OR SECURE THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A COMMUNITY CENTRE AND TO MAINTAIN AND MANAGE THE SAME, WHETHER ALONE OR IN CO-OPERATION WITH ANY LOCAL AUTHORITY OR OTHER PERSON OR BODY IN FURTHERANCE OF THESE OBJECTSS

Area of benefit: THE PARISH OF ST MATTHEW & ST LUKE, DARLINGTON

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: General Charitable Purposes · Education/training · Disability · Religious Activities · Arts/culture/heritage/science · Amateur Sport · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£45k
Latest spending
£53k
Registered
2002
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the centre experienced increased usage of its halls in 2025, necessitating various maintenance and renewal works. Financially, the organization paid an annual rent of £1,000 and repaid a £5,000 loan, while receiving specific grants for transport and events. The filing does not disclose total income or expenditure figures, nor does it mention reserves or staffing costs.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Related-party transaction: Rent paid to church
“Annual rent of £1,000 paid to St. Matthew and St. Luke’s Church, payment of £1,000 made to the Church Hall Trust and the loan of £5,000 secured at the end of last year repaid to the Trust.” — page 2
“Annual rent of £1,000 paid to St. Matthew and St. Luke’s Church, payment of £1,000 made to the Church Hall Trust and the loan of £5,000 secured at the end of last year repaid to the Trust.” — page 2
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: Loan repayment to Trust
“Annual rent of £1,000 paid to St. Matthew and St. Luke’s Church, payment of £1,000 made to the Church Hall Trust and the loan of £5,000 secured at the end of last year repaid to the Trust.” — page 2
“Annual rent of £1,000 paid to St. Matthew and St. Luke’s Church, payment of £1,000 made to the Church Hall Trust and the loan of £5,000 secured at the end of last year repaid to the Trust.” — page 2
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: Grant from Church Fund
“Annual rent of £1,000 paid to St. Matthew and St. Luke’s Church, payment of £1,000 made to the Church Hall Trust and the loan of £5,000 secured at the end of last year repaid to the Trust.” — page 2
“Annual rent of £1,000 paid to St. Matthew and St. Luke’s Church, payment of £1,000 made to the Church Hall Trust and the loan of £5,000 secured at the end of last year repaid to the Trust.” — page 2
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Darlington

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2025£45k£53k
31/12/2024£42k£29k
31/12/2023£23k£29k
31/12/2022£36k£26k
31/12/2021£22k£19k

Common questions

Is THE WILLOW ROAD COMMUNITY CENTRE PROJECT financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the centre experienced increased usage of its halls in 2025, necessitating various maintenance and renewal works. Financially, the organization paid an annual rent of £1,000 and repaid a £5,000 loan, while receiving specific grants for transport and events. The filing does not disclose total income or expenditure figures, nor does it mention reserves or staffing costs.

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
The National Lottery Community Fund18/05/2026£20kWillow Road Community Centre - new kitchen