THE DOWNS SCHOOL TRUST

Registered charity 1094239 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

The main activity of the charity is fundraising for the benefit of educational objectives.

Causes: Education/training · Grant history (this charity is a funder) · Get email alerts

Latest income
£106k
Latest spending
£63k
Registered
2002
Accounts read
FY2026

Financial health, per its FY2026 accounts

The accounts state that the charity holds unrestricted reserves of £147,886.98 as of 31 March 2026. The trustees report that they are building these reserves in preparation for a larger estate improvement project planned for Summer 2027. The document does not disclose a specific reserves policy target to compare against this actual figure.

Automated summary of the FY2026 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Register events

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: West Berkshire

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2026£106k£63k
31/03/2025£122k£16k
31/03/2024£74k£25k
31/03/2023£75k£73k
31/03/2022£50k£41k

Common questions

Is THE DOWNS SCHOOL TRUST financially healthy?

Per its FY2026 accounts: The accounts state that the charity holds unrestricted reserves of £147,886.98 as of 31 March 2026. The trustees report that they are building these reserves in preparation for a larger estate improvement project planned for Summer 2027. The document does not disclose a specific reserves policy target to compare against this actual figure. Its FY2026 accounts were independently examined.

Who funds THE DOWNS SCHOOL TRUST?

Funders whose own accounts filings name THE DOWNS SCHOOL TRUST as a grant recipient include MISS W E LAWRENCE 1973 CHARITABLE SETTLEMENT.

Known funders

Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.

FunderYearAmountPurpose (as stated by the funder)
MISS W E LAWRENCE 1973 CHARITABLE SETTLEMENTFY2025£2k
MISS W E LAWRENCE 1973 CHARITABLE SETTLEMENTFY2024£2k

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
Sport England03/06/2025£6kRenovation of School Swimming Pool

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with THE DOWNS SCHOOL (CHARLTON HOUSE) LIMITED.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
THE DOWNS SCHOOL TRUST£106k—0unclear—no doubt
THE DOWNS SCHOOL (CHARLTON HOUSE) LIMITED FY2025£5.8m——unclear—no doubt
DOWNE HOUSE FOUNDATION FY2025£393k—0within—no doubt
THE SOUTHDOWN SCHOOL TRUST FY2025£144k—0above—no doubt
DOWNE HOUSE TRUST FY2025£646k—0below—no doubt
DOWNRIGHT EXCELLENT FY2025£224k—0below—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.