BUTTERFIELD'S EDWARD JOHNSON TRUST

Registered charity 1088183 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

BEJT funds a hostel for girls from disadvantaged backgrounds in Delhi, and hostels for boys and girls in Itarsi MP, providing the children (mostly picked up on railway stations) with a place of safety and the chance of education. It makes occasional grants to organisations doing similar work, provides financial support to the sick or destitute, and enables poor children to get an education.

Causes: General Charitable Purposes · Education/training · The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives · Disability · The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty · Accommodation/housing · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£34k
Latest spending
£38k
Registered
2001
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that total receipts were £34,090 and total payments were £37,725, resulting in a net decrease in funds of £3,635. The charity holds unrestricted cash funds of £110,373 at the end of the period. The filing does not disclose any reserves policy or specific unrestricted reserves figure beyond the cash balance.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Funders the charity credits

Named as funders/supporters on the charity’s own website (the charity’s claim, distinct from accounts-verified grants).

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: India

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
05/04/2025£34k£38k
05/04/2024£41k£31k
05/04/2023£55k£27k
05/04/2022£51k£28k
05/04/2021£36k£25k

Common questions

Is BUTTERFIELD'S EDWARD JOHNSON TRUST financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that total receipts were £34,090 and total payments were £37,725, resulting in a net decrease in funds of £3,635. The charity holds unrestricted cash funds of £110,373 at the end of the period. The filing does not disclose any reserves policy or specific unrestricted reserves figure beyond the cash balance. Its FY2025 accounts were independently examined.