FOREST PEOPLES PROGRAMME

Registered charity 1082158 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as FOREST PEOPLES PROJECT, FPP

To support indigenous and tribal forest peoples to promote their collective and individual rights, secure their lands and manage thier natural resources to build their capacity to carry out actions for the long-term relief of poverty and to educate policy makers and civil society about their concerns and aspirations.

Causes: Education/training · Environment/conservation/heritage · Human Rights/religious Or Racial Harmony/equality Or Diversity · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£9.6m
Latest spending
£7.4m
Registered
2000
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The charity reported a net surplus of £2.18m for the year, with total income rising to £9.56m against total expenditure of £7.29m. Unrestricted reserves increased significantly to £6.03m, well above the trustees' stated policy target of approximately £1.03m (four months of operating costs). The trustees confirmed the charity can continue as a going concern, although they noted that even pessimistic scenarios would result in operation at a lower capacity.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Reserves policy: four months’ (non-project funded) organisational operating costs plus four months’ salary commitments for all staff (held: £6.0m)
“The Trustees believe that the level of the EOR should normally be the equivalent of a minimum of four months’ (non-project funded) organisational operating costs plus four months’ salary commitments for all staff. This would currently amount to approximately £1,026k (2024: £1,031k).” — page 8
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Going concern: noted by the trustees or auditor
“Even the most pessimistic scenario shows that the organisation can continue to operate as a going concern, albeit at a much lower level and capacity than present.” — page 12
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Payments to trustees: Two trustees received payments for consultancy services (legal and accountancy).
“During the year payments were made to two Trustees for the provision of legal consultancy services and accountancy support provided to the Charity, see related party transactions note 14 a total of £21,463 (2024: £21,885 for the same 2 Trustees).” — page 29
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: Two trustees provided consultancy services (accountancy and legal support).
“Two Trustees (2024: two) provided consultancy services to the Charity. The nature of consultancy services included accountancy and legal support to the charity. The total received was £21,463 (2024: £21,885).” — page 37
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Governance: The document states: 'During 2025 FPP has not reported any safeguarding incidents but has reported a fraud incident with one of our Congo Basin partners to the Charity Commission and grant funders.' This is a disclosed serious incident involving a partner, reported to the regulator.
“During 2025 FPP has not reported any safeguarding incidents but has reported a fraud incident with one of our Congo Basin partners to the Charity Commission and grant funders.” — page 12
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts audited by Crowe U.K. LLP. Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

Year-over-year changes

Comparing this charity’s FY2024 and FY2025 accounts as analysed by this site.

In the news

Recent coverage mentioning this charity by name (automated match; headlines belong to their publishers).

Public fundraising profile: JustGiving — Forest Peoples Programme (matched by registered charity number).

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook · instagram · linkedin

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/12/2025)

Total income
£9.6m
Total spending
£7.4m
Cost of raising funds
£88k
Reserves (reported)
£1.3m
Employees
58

Reported reserves equal ~2.1 months of spending — in the bottom quarter for charities its size (median 4.8 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, largest income source: Charitable activities (99% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 0.9% of total income — below the median for charities its size (5.2%) (benchmarks).

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Antigua And Barbuda · Bangladesh · Brazil · Cameroon · Central African Republic · Colombia · Congo · Congo (Democratic Republic) · Costa Rica · Guyana · Indonesia · Kenya

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2025£9.6m£7.4m
31/12/2024£7.3m£7.2m
31/12/2023£8.2m£6.9m
31/12/2022£5.4m£4.6m
31/12/2021£5.3m£3.8m

Common questions

Is FOREST PEOPLES PROGRAMME financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The charity reported a net surplus of £2.18m for the year, with total income rising to £9.56m against total expenditure of £7.29m. Unrestricted reserves increased significantly to £6.03m, well above the trustees' stated policy target of approximately £1.03m (four months of operating costs). The trustees confirmed the charity can continue as a going concern, although they noted that even pessimistic scenarios would result in operation at a lower capacity. Its FY2025 accounts were audited by Crowe U.K. LLP.

Who funds FOREST PEOPLES PROGRAMME?

Funders whose own accounts filings name FOREST PEOPLES PROGRAMME as a grant recipient include INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR ENVIRONMENT AND DEVELOPMENT, THE ORR MACKINTOSH FOUNDATION LIMITED, THE ALLEN OVERY SHEARMAN STERLING FOUNDATION, THE NORTHWICK TRUST, GLOBAL CANOPY.

Known funders

Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.

FunderYearAmountPurpose (as stated by the funder)
INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR ENVIRONMENT AND DEVELOPMENTFY2025£188kPayments to collaborating organisations
THE ORR MACKINTOSH FOUNDATION LIMITEDFY2024£70k
THE ALLEN OVERY SHEARMAN STERLING FOUNDATIONFY2023£55k
THE ALLEN OVERY SHEARMAN STERLING FOUNDATIONFY2022£50k
THE ALLEN OVERY SHEARMAN STERLING FOUNDATIONFY2024£50k
THE NORTHWICK TRUSTFY2023£30k
GLOBAL CANOPYFY2022£29kGrant funding of activities
GLOBAL CANOPYFY2022£29kGrant funding of activities
CHK FoundationFY2024£10k
HARMONY WITH NATURE CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2025£5kto protect the Rights of indigenous peoples worldwide
THE NORTHWICK TRUSTFY2024£5k
HARMONY WITH NATURE CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2024£5kto Forest Peoples Programme, to protect the Rights of indigenous peoples worldwide
HARMONY WITH NATURE CHARITABLE TRUSTFY2023£4k

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
The National Lottery Community Fund27/10/2006£9kImproving living conditions for Twa potters through Fair Trade Enterprise
ARCADIA—£1.4mSupport for the Environmental Governance Programme

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with SURVIVAL INTERNATIONAL CHARITABLE TRUST.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
FOREST PEOPLES PROGRAMME£9.6m——unclear—noted
SURVIVAL INTERNATIONAL CHARITABLE TRUST FY2025£2.1m£90,001 - £100,000—unclear—no doubt
COOL EARTH ACTION FY2026£3.9m£110,001 - £120,000—unclear14.7%noted
LTPP FY2024£3.1m—0above—no doubt
THE PROTIMOS EDUCATIONAL TRUST FY2025£322k—0unclear—no doubt
WILL WOODLANDS FY2025£602k—0above—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.