SOS CHILDREN'S VILLAGES UK
Registered charity 1069204 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as SOS CHILDREN, WORLD ORPHAN WEEK, WOW
SOS Children's Villages UK is part of a global federation founded in 1949. Working in over 130 countries, the SOS Children's Villages federation is the world's largest non-governmental group focused on supporting children and young people who don't have, or at risk of losing, parental care. SOS Children's Villages UK supports children in over 100 of these today.
Causes: Overseas Aid/famine Relief · website · Get email alerts
Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts
The accounts state that total income was £6,448,490 while total expenditure was £7,757,631, resulting in a net spending deficit for the period. Unrestricted funds stood at £1,026,267, providing a reserve level against total net assets of £1,472,026. The filing notes the existence of a financial reserves policy but does not disclose the specific target amount or current unrestricted reserves relative to that policy.
Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.
What the accounts disclose
Largest income source: Investment income (86% of income)
“Investment income £ 5,542,446”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Trading subsidiary: disclosed
“Does the charity have any trading subsidiaries? Yes”
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Discloses 2 of 6 completeness components.
Corporate structure
Public fundraising profile: JustGiving — SOS Children's Villages UK (matched by registered charity number).
Company officers (Companies House)
Current officers of the charity’s own company per the Companies House register, cross-checked against the Charity Commission trustee list by name. A director not on the trustee list is usually a timing or naming difference between the two registers — check both records before drawing conclusions.
- BOWDEN, Kim Annette — director, appointed 07/12/2023on trustee list
- REILLY, Janet Lesley — director, appointed 13/04/2023on trustee list
- HAMPSON, Suli — director, appointed 13/04/2023on trustee list
- STEINBACK, Jonathan — director, appointed 13/04/2023on trustee list
- MCDONALD, Louise Mary — director, appointed 13/04/2023on trustee list
- COLLACOTT, Harpinder Kaur Athwal — director, appointed 01/01/2022on trustee list
- IBRAHIM, Solava Samir Saad Mohamed — director, appointed 07/07/2020on trustee list
- WALLACE, Alison — secretary, appointed 03/02/2023
Official officers record.
Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/12/2025)
Cost of raising funds
£2.9m
Reported reserves equal ~0.0 months of spending — in the bottom quarter for charities its size (median 4.8 months; benchmarks).
Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 43.0% of total income — above the 90th percentile for charities its size (median 5.2%) (benchmarks).
Register events
- Received assets from another charity (17/11/2025) — per the register’s event history; asset transfers typically record mergers or reorganisations.
- Received assets from another charity (12/08/2024) — per the register’s event history; asset transfers typically record mergers or reorganisations.
- Received assets from another charity (23/03/2023) — per the register’s event history; asset transfers typically record mergers or reorganisations.
- Received assets from another charity (14/04/2016) — per the register’s event history; asset transfers typically record mergers or reorganisations.
- Harpinder Collacott
- Janet Reilly
- Jonathan Steinback
- Kim Annette Bowden
- Louise Mary McDonald
- Solava Samir Saad Mohamed Ibrahim
- Suli Ulla Anja Hampson
Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).
Operates in: Argentina · Armenia · Bangladesh · Belarus · Benin · Bosnia And Herzegovina · Brazil · Burundi · Cambodia · Cape Verde · Chile · Congo (Democratic Republic)
Income and spending
Common questions
Is SOS CHILDREN'S VILLAGES UK financially healthy?
Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that total income was £6,448,490 while total expenditure was £7,757,631, resulting in a net spending deficit for the period. Unrestricted funds stood at £1,026,267, providing a reserve level against total net assets of £1,472,026. The filing notes the existence of a financial reserves policy but does not disclose the specific target amount or current unrestricted reserves relative to that policy.
Who funds SOS CHILDREN'S VILLAGES UK?
Funders whose own accounts filings name SOS CHILDREN'S VILLAGES UK as a grant recipient include ELRHA, CHOOSE LOVE, ALLAN AND NESTA FERGUSON CHARITABLE SETTLEMENT, THE HARRISON-FRANK FAMILY FOUNDATION (UK) LIMITED, FROM BABIES WITH LOVE FOUNDATION.
Known funders
Grants to this charity found in funders’ own accounts filings.
Government & lottery funding
Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).
Funders of similar charities
Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.
Charities like this
Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with WORLD VISION UK.
Side by side with its peers
Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.