BOWDON CHURCH CHARITY

Registered charity 1067424 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

Charity receives rental income from the Co-op Cost Cutter store in Bowdon Vale and uses this to make grants to the work of Bowdon Parish Church.

Objects

1) THE MANAGING TRUSTEES SHALL APPLY THE CLEAR INCOME OF THE CHARITY, IN FURTHERING THE RELIGIOUS AND OTHER CHARITABLE WORK OF THE CHURCH OF ENGLAND IN THE SAID ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH 2) IF AND INSOFAR AS THE INCOME CANNOT BE APPLIED AS AFORESAID THE MANAGING TRUSTEES SHALL APPLY THE INCOME IN PROMOTING THE RELIGIOUS EDUCATION OF PERSONS UNDER THE AGE OF 25 YEARS WHO ARE RESIDENT IN THE SAID ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH AND WHO ARE IN NEED OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PRINCIPALS AND DOCTRINES OF THE CHURCH OF ENGLAND BY MEANS OF SUNDAY SCHOOLS OR IN SUCH OTHER WAYS AS THE MANAGING TRUSTEES SHALL THINK FIT

Area of benefit: NOT DEFINED

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Religious Activities · Get email alerts

Latest income
£41k
Latest spending
£39k
Registered
1998
Accounts read
FY2024

Financial health, per its FY2024 accounts

The accounts state that the charity held unrestricted reserves of £52,680 at the end of the financial year. The trustees report that the repayment of £1,500 due from Bowdon Church to the Bowdon Church Charity was received on 2nd January 2024, contributing to the year-end balance. The document does not disclose a specific reserves policy target or any financial risks affecting the charity's continuity.

Automated summary of the FY2024 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Related-party transaction: The document states the land is vested in the Chester Diocesan Board of Finance as custodian trustees and the PCC are managing trustees. It also notes a repayment due from 'Bowdon Church' to the 'Bowdon Church Charity'.
“The land belonging to the charity is vested in the Chester Diocesan Board of Finance as custodian trustees.”
Per its FY2024 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Discloses 2 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Trafford

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2024£41k£39k
31/12/2023£39k£37k
31/12/2022£37k£42k
31/12/2021£37k£40k
31/12/2020£37k£35k

Common questions

Is BOWDON CHURCH CHARITY financially healthy?

Per its FY2024 accounts: The accounts state that the charity held unrestricted reserves of £52,680 at the end of the financial year. The trustees report that the repayment of £1,500 due from Bowdon Church to the Bowdon Church Charity was received on 2nd January 2024, contributing to the year-end balance. The document does not disclose a specific reserves policy target or any financial risks affecting the charity's continuity.