EUROPEAN SOCIETY OF CATARACT AND REFRACTIVE SURGEONS LIMITED

Registered charity 1066532 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as ESCRS, ESCRS LIMITED

The activities of the Company include the promotion of education and research in the field of implant and refractive surgery and the study and practice of ophthalmology and research. It also promotes experimental work in the field of intraocular lens implantation and refractive surgery.

Causes: Education/training · The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£19.2m
Latest spending
£16.5m
Registered
1997
Accounts read
FY2024

Financial health, per its FY2024 accounts

Per the auditor's report, the financial statements were subject to an independent audit which identified significant risks related to the completeness of income recognition and potential management override of controls. The auditor confirmed that their work was limited to providing an opinion to the members and did not assume responsibility to other parties. The document does not disclose specific financial health metrics such as reserves or surplus/deficit figures.

Automated summary of the FY2024 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Governance: The document details specific audit risks regarding irregularities, fraud, and management override of controls, but does not explicitly state that a serious incident report was filed, internal control failures were admitted, or that the regulator engaged in enforcement action. It mentions reviewing regulatory correspondence, but does not disclose the content of any such engagement or findings.
“We identified the greatest risk of material impact on the financial statements from irregularities, including fraud, to be within the completeness of recognition of Independent Medical Education income, congress income from exhibition and sponsorship and the override of controls by management.” — page 19
Per its FY2024 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts audited by Crowe U.K. LLP. Discloses 4 of 6 completeness components.

Leadership, per the charity’s website

Listed on the charity’s own website when we last crawled it; roles may have changed. Pay-band disclosures above are anonymous statutory disclosures and are not attributed to any named individual.

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook · instagram

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 31/12/2024)

Total income
£19.2m
Total spending
£16.5m
Cost of raising funds
£88k
Reserves (reported)
£18.7m
Employees
2

Reported reserves equal ~13.6 months of spending — in the top quarter for charities its size (median 4.6 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, largest income source: Charitable activities (93% of income) — components as reported reconcile to the return’s total income; not from the accounts narrative.

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 0.5% of total income — below the median for charities its size (3.8%) (benchmarks).

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Algeria · Argentina · Aruba · Australia · Austria · Azerbaijan · Belarus · Belgium · Bosnia And Herzegovina · Brazil · Bulgaria · Canada

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/12/2024£19.2m£16.5m
31/12/2023£16.1m£16.0m
31/12/2022£11.6m£11.7m
31/12/2021£6.7m£9.0m
31/12/2020£4.3m£8.5m

Common questions

Is EUROPEAN SOCIETY OF CATARACT AND REFRACTIVE SURGEONS LIMITED financially healthy?

Per its FY2024 accounts: Per the auditor's report, the financial statements were subject to an independent audit which identified significant risks related to the completeness of income recognition and potential management override of controls. The auditor confirmed that their work was limited to providing an opinion to the members and did not assume responsibility to other parties. The document does not disclose specific financial health metrics such as reserves or surplus/deficit figures. Its FY2024 accounts were audited by Crowe U.K. LLP.

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

FunderSimilar charities fundedAmount to them
THE COMPANY OF BIOLOGISTS1£110k
THE ELIZABETH FRANKLAND MOORE AND STAR FOUNDATION1£8k

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with UNITED KINGDOM & IRELAND SOCIETY OF CATARACT AND REFRACTIVE SURGEONS.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
EUROPEAN SOCIETY OF CATARACT AND REFRACTIVE SURGEONS LIMITED£19.2m—0unclear—no doubt
UNITED KINGDOM & IRELAND SOCIETY OF CATARACT AND REFRACTIVE SURGEONS FY2025£407k—0unclear—no doubt
FOUNDATION OF THE SOCIETY OF RETINA SPECIALISTS FY2024£2.7m€100,001 - €110,000—above—no doubt
I.O.O. LIMITED FY2023£4.4m—0below—material uncertainty
BRITISH SOCIETY FOR DERMATOLOGICAL SURGERY FY2025£241k—0unclear—no doubt
EUROPEAN SOCIETY OF THORACIC SURGEONS FY2025£1.8m€100,001 - €110,0002above—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.