FIRST STEPS NEW FOREST

Registered charity 1037064 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as FIRST STEPS PLAYGROUP (BRANSGORE), FIRST STEPS PRE-SCHOOL (BRANSGORE), FIRST STEPS PRE-SCHOOL AND FAMILY GROUP (BRANSGORE), THE CHARITY

We work with families and children mainly from an the local settled Gypsy/Traveller community who live in rural isolation. We employ two part time Community Development workers. We advocate on behalf of the community with outside agencies.

Objects

THE AIM OF THE CHARITY IS TO ENHANCE THE DEVELOPMENT, EDUCATION, HEALTH AND WELFARE OF CHILDREN AND THE EDUCATION AND HEALTH OF OTHER MEMBERS OF THEIR FAMILY GROUP ENCOURAGING THE PARENT/S GUARDIAN/S TO UNDERSTAND AND PROVIDE FOR THE NEEDS OF THEIR CHILDREN THROUGH COMMUNITY GROUPS AND BY:OFFERING APPROPRIATE PLAY FACILITIES AND OPPORTUNITIES FOR PARENT/S GUARDIAN/S TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR AND TO BECOME INVOLVED IN THE ACTIVITIES OF SUCH GROUPS.ENSURING THAT SUCH GROUPS OFFER OPPORTUNITIES FOR ALL CHILDREN AND THEIR MEMBERS OF THEIR FAMILY GROUP, REGARDLESS OF RACE, CULTURE, RELIGION OR MEANS.ENCOURAGING THE STUDY OF THE NEEDS OF SUCH CHILDREN AND THEIR FAMILIES AND PROMOTING PUBLIC INTEREST IN THE RECOGNITION OF SUCH NEEDS IN THE LOCAL AREAS.

Area of benefit: NOT DEFINED

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: General Charitable Purposes · Education/training · The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives · Disability · The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty · Arts/culture/heritage/science · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£31k
Latest spending
£29k
Registered
1994
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity reported total income of £31,240 and total expenditure of £28,990 for the financial year ending 04 April 2025. The filing does not disclose any figures for free or unrestricted reserves, nor does it mention a reserves policy target.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Funders the charity credits

Named as funders/supporters on the charity’s own website (the charity’s claim, distinct from accounts-verified grants).

Public profiles (found on the charity’s own website): facebook

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Hampshire

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
04/04/2025£31k£29k
04/04/2024£26k£30k
04/04/2023£21k£27k
04/04/2022£27k£25k
04/04/2021£32k£23k

Common questions

Is FIRST STEPS NEW FOREST financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity reported total income of £31,240 and total expenditure of £28,990 for the financial year ending 04 April 2025. The filing does not disclose any figures for free or unrestricted reserves, nor does it mention a reserves policy target.

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
The National Lottery Community Fund13/02/2025£110kFirst Steps New Forest
The National Lottery Community Fund31/01/2020£86kFirst Steps New Forest
The National Lottery Community Fund17/08/2018£10kFirst Steps New Forest
The National Lottery Heritage Fund21/02/2017£10k"Our Heritage"
The National Lottery Community Fund06/07/2016£7kFirst Steps New Forest
The National Lottery Community Fund10/12/2008£5kFirst Steps Pre School and Family Group
The National Lottery Heritage Fund30/10/2007£8k"Remembering Our Family"