TAW UNIVERSITY OF THE THIRD AGE

Registered charity 1026238 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as TAW U 3 A

Engaging retired/older people in a variety of group activities to keep mentally and, where appropriate, physically fit. To introduce new topics for education and enlightenment.

Objects

THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION AND, IN PARTICULAR, THE EDUCATION OF OLDER PEOPLE AND THOSE WHO ARE RETIRED FROM FULL TIME WORK, BY ALL MEANS INCLUDING ASSOCIATED ACTIVITIES CONDUCIVE TO LEARNING AND PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT IN BARNSTAPLE AND THE SURROUNDING AREA.

Area of benefit: IN PRACTICE BARNSTAPLE AND DISTRICT

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · Get email alerts

Latest income
£40k
Latest spending
£38k
Registered
1993
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity had total unrestricted funds of £18,190 at the end of the period, with cash funds comprising the entirety of these assets. The document does not disclose a specific reserves policy target or unrestricted reserves figure distinct from total funds, nor does it mention any borrowing or liabilities.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Largest income source: Affiliate membership 2024/25 (3% of income)
“Affiliate membership 2024/25” — page 1
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts independently examined (not a full audit). Discloses 2 of 6 completeness components.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Devon

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/03/2025£40k£38k
31/03/2024£32k£29k
31/03/2023£23k£22k
31/03/2022£13k£10k
31/03/2021£13k£10k

Common questions

Is TAW UNIVERSITY OF THE THIRD AGE financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity had total unrestricted funds of £18,190 at the end of the period, with cash funds comprising the entirety of these assets. The document does not disclose a specific reserves policy target or unrestricted reserves figure distinct from total funds, nor does it mention any borrowing or liabilities. Its FY2025 accounts were independently examined.

Government & lottery funding

Grants to this charity published as open data by government and lottery funders (360Giving).

FunderDateAmountPurpose
The National Lottery Community Fund19/01/2009£7kFacilities for Growth