SHARPNESS PLAYGROUP

Registered charity 1003222 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register

Sharpness Playgroup providing learning/care for preschool children from age 2. We operate in a small rural area in the Primary school grounds with close links with the school so children can prepare for and have a smooth transition into school.

Objects

THE AIM OF THE GROUP IS TO EMBODY THE VISION OF PATA THROUGH THE ENHANCEMENT OF THE DEVELOPMENT, CARE AND EDUCATION OF CHILDREN PRIMARILY UNDER STATUTORY SCHOOL AGE AND ALSO OF CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE OF SCHOOL AGE BY ENCOURAGING PARENTS TO UNDERSTAND AND PROVIDE FOR THE NEEDS OF THEIR CHILDREN THROUGH COMMUNITY (VOLUNTARY MANAGED) GROUPS AND BY: (A) OFFERING APPROPRIATE PLAY FACILITIES AND TRAINING COURSES, TOGETHER WITH THE RIGHT OF PARENTS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR AND TO BECOME INVOLVED IN THE ACTIVITIES OF SUCH GROUPS, ENSURING THAT SUCH GROUPS OFFER OPPORTUNITIES FOR ALL CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE, WHATEVER THEIR RACE, CULTURE, RELIGION, MEANS OR ABILITY (B) ENCOURAGING THE STUDY OF THE NEEDS OF SUCH CHILDREN AND THEIR FAMILIES AND PROMOTING PUBLIC INTEREST IN AND RECOGNITION OF SUCH NEEDS IN THE LOCAL AREA

Area of benefit: IN PRACTICE SHARPNESS, GLOUCESTERSHIRE

The charity’s charitable objects and area of benefit, quoted from its governing document as held on the Charity Commission register.

Causes: Education/training · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£86k
Latest spending
£72k
Registered
1991
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity received £76,730 in income and spent £70,460 during the financial period ending 31 August 2024. The filing indicates that no trustee received remuneration and the charity has no trading subsidiaries. The document does not disclose specific free reserves figures or a reserves policy target.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Discloses 3 of 6 completeness components.

In its annual return the charity told the Commission it is also regulated by: Ofsted (Office For Standards In Education). This is the charity’s own declaration; it is not a rating and has not been verified by the Commission or by this site.

Policies the charity declares

In its annual return the charity told the Commission that it has the policies listed below. This is self-declared: it is not verified by the Commission or by this site, and it is not evidence of how a policy works in practice.

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Gloucestershire

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
31/08/2025£86k£72k
31/08/2024£77k£70k
31/08/2023£82k£71k
31/08/2022£60k£61k
31/08/2021£59k£55k

Common questions

Is SHARPNESS PLAYGROUP financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity received £76,730 in income and spent £70,460 during the financial period ending 31 August 2024. The filing indicates that no trustee received remuneration and the charity has no trading subsidiaries. The document does not disclose specific free reserves figures or a reserves policy target.