ROTARY FOUNDATION OF THE UNITED KINGDOM

Registered charity 1002059 · accounts filings on the Charity Commission register · also known as RFUK, ROTARY FOUNDATION OF THE UNTED KINGDOM

The charities activates are set out in its Articles of Association. In addition it is committed to supporting the activities of the Rotary Foundation of Rotary International in the mission to advance world understanding, goodwill and peace through the improvement of health, the support of education and the alleviation of poverty.

Causes: Education/training · The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives · Disability · The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty · Overseas Aid/famine Relief · Economic/community Development/employment · Grant history (this charity is a funder) · website · Get email alerts

Latest income
£3.4m
Latest spending
£2.8m
Registered
1991
Accounts read
FY2025

Financial health, per its FY2025 accounts

The accounts state that the charity made a surplus for the year and holds unrestricted funds of £596,401, which exceeds its stated reserves policy target of covering 18 months of expected fundraising and administrative costs. The charity has no staff costs, relying instead on administrative support from Rotary International in Great Britain and Ireland, and reports no material uncertainties regarding its ability to continue as a going concern.

Automated summary of the FY2025 accounts; the evidenced findings below carry the verbatim passages.

What the accounts disclose

Reserves policy: 18 months of expected fundraising and administrative costs plus mitigation for loss of income and contingent administration costs (held: £596k)
“Rotary Foundation of the United Kingdom has adopted a policy to retain in unrestricted reserves only sufficient funds to cover expected fundraising and administrative costs for 18 months and to mitigate the risk of an unforeseen substantial loss of income plus a contingent amount to cover potential administration costs should Rotary International in Great Britain and Ireland be unable to continue to provide the aforementioned staff support.” — page 6
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.
Related-party transaction: The charity has taken advantage of exemptions available under FRS102 paragraph 33 whereby it has not disclosed transactions with the parent and ultimate parent company of the group. There were no related party transactions with any non -wholly owned group members.
“The charity has taken advantage of exemptions available under FRS102 paragraph 33 whereby it has not disclosed transactions with the parent and ultimate parent company of the group. There were no related party transactions with any non -wholly owned group members.” — page 27
Per its FY2025 accounts as filed with the Charity Commission.

Accounts audited by Burgis & Bullock. Discloses 5 of 6 completeness components.

Public fundraising profile: JustGiving — Rotary Foundation Of The United Kingdom (matched by registered charity number).

Structured financials (annual return, FY ending 30/06/2025)

Total income
£3.4m
Total spending
£2.8m
Cost of raising funds
£130k
Reserves (reported)
£656k
Employees
0

Reported reserves equal ~2.8 months of spending — below the median for charities its size (median 4.8 months; benchmarks).

Per its annual return, cost of raising funds: 3.8% of total income — below the median for charities its size (5.2%) (benchmarks).

Register events

Trustees · trustee networks

Trustee list from the Charity Commission register (current, not historical).

Operates in: Throughout England And Wales · United States

Income and spending

Financial year endIncomeSpending
30/06/2025£3.4m£2.8m
30/06/2024£3.0m£3.0m
30/06/2023£3.2m£3.2m
30/06/2022£2.9m£2.9m
30/06/2021£2.8m£2.8m

Common questions

Is ROTARY FOUNDATION OF THE UNITED KINGDOM financially healthy?

Per its FY2025 accounts: The accounts state that the charity made a surplus for the year and holds unrestricted funds of £596,401, which exceeds its stated reserves policy target of covering 18 months of expected fundraising and administrative costs. The charity has no staff costs, relying instead on administrative support from Rotary International in Great Britain and Ireland, and reports no material uncertainties regarding its ability to continue as a going concern. Its FY2025 accounts were audited by Burgis & Bullock.

Funders of similar charities

Funders whose accounts show grants to charities similar to this one (and no recorded grant to this charity) — a starting list for fundraisers.

FunderSimilar charities fundedAmount to them
AY AND Y PATEL CHARITABLE TRUST1£4k

Charities like this

Semantically similar by activities and financial character, from our analysed corpus. Compare with ROTARY CLUB OF ROMSEY TEST TRUST FUND.

Side by side with its peers

CharityIncomeTop pay bandStaff >£60kReserves vs policyFundraising costGoing concern
ROTARY FOUNDATION OF THE UNITED KINGDOM£3.4m—0unclear—no doubt
ROTARY CLUB OF ROMSEY TEST TRUST FUND FY2025£100k—0below—no doubt
BERKHAMSTED ROTARY TRUST FUND CIO FY2025£137k—0unclear—no doubt
ROTARY CLUB OF YORK CHARITY FUND FY2025£148k—0unclear—no doubt
GOODWILL FOUNDATION FY2025£179k—0unclear—no doubt
HOLLYHOCK CHARITABLE FOUNDATION FY2024£385k—0unclear—no doubt

Each row is that charity’s latest analysed filing; every value is quote-backed on its own page.